Click here for full World Supersport race results from Lausitzring

Sheridan Morais has been awarded a controversial victory by a red flag stoppage after Federico Caricasulo crashed and took out his GRT Yamaha team-mate and World Supersport championship leader Lucas Mahias during the five-way tussle for the lead at the Lausitzring.

After a relatively well-natured five rider battle for victory between Morais, Mahias, Caricasulo, Kenan Sofuoglu and Jules Cluzel over the opening two-thirds of the German race, the action sparked into life on lap 15.

Morais, who had led from lights out, dropped from first to fourth in one lap to see Caricasulo head the pack from Sofuoglu with Mahias in third. At the start of lap 17, Sofuoglu pulled off a bold move up the inside of Caricasulo for the lead but the Italian wouldn’t relent on the switchback for turn two. Caricasulo was pushed wide and on to the dirty part of the track which saw him lose grip with his GRT Yamaha and slide off.

But with the track coming back for the left-hander turn three, Caricasulo slid back across the track and collected team-mate Mahais in a nasty accident. The French rider was able to re-join but Caricasulo was immediately taken to the medical centre after being his by Mahias’s Yamaha, which sparked the red flag.

As a result, the race classification was taken back to the end of lap 16 which classified Morais as the winner, his first in World Supersport, but as Caricasulo was unable to return to the pits he could not take up his classified second place and therefore is listed as DNF.

That sees Sofuoglu take second place with Mahias third and Cluzel fourth, to see the defending World Supersport champion close to within one point on leader Mahias.

Further back, Niki Tuuli battled back against a six-place grid penalty for touring during qualifying to go from ninth to fifth place for Kallio Racing Yamaha ahead of Lorenzo Zanetti at Team Factory Vamag MV Agusta, who replaced Roberto Rolfo in the team line-up before Germany.

Kyle Smith held on to seventh on the Team Lorini Honda ahead of Anthony West (EAB West Yamaha) and wildcard Thomas Gradinger on the MPB Yamaha, as Luke Stapleford rounded out the top ten for Profile Racing Triumph.

Chris Bergman claimed 11th on his return for CIA Landlords Insurance Honda ahead of Christian Gamarino on the Bardahl Evan Bros Honda as Hannes Soomer (WILSport Racedayz Honda), Alessandro Zaccone (MV Agusta) and Michael Canducci (Puccetti Junior Kawasaki) rounded out the points finishers.



Loading Comments...