Jorg Muller may have set the pace in qualifying for the latest round of the World Touring Car Championship, but James Thompson will start from pole position after the implementation of a suspended ten place grid penalty saw Muller plummet down to eleventh place.

The BMW man had finished the session nearly two tenths of a second clear of Thompson but will now line up alongside title hopeful Fabrizio Giovanardi on row six, with Augusto Farfus joining Thompson on an all Alfa Romeo front row.

With Muller's penalty, reigning ETCC champion Andy Priaulx will start the race as the leading BMW driver from third on the grid, sharing the second row with the third Alfa Romeo of Gabriele Tarquini, ahead of a train of SEAT Toledo's, the works cars of Rickard Rydell and Peter Terting sandwiching the Team Oreca Playstation entry of Stephane Ortelli in fifth, sixth and seventh.

Championship leader Dirk Muller starts the race from eighth alongside Jordi Gene in the new SEAT Leon WTCC while Thomas Klenke secured a best-yet qualifying result for Team Hotfiel Sport with tenth place in his Ford Focus. Team-mate Michael Funke, who set the pace in both practice sessions, was unable to repeat the feat in qualifying and will start the opening race from 16th place.

Guiseppe Ciro qualified as leading independent runner in 17th place in the Proteam Motorsport BMW, while series debutant Eric Helary will start from the penultimate slot on the grid for his first race with the Peugeot 407 which appeared in the WTCC for the first time in the last round at Spa.



Loading Comments...