SEAT has clinched the manufacturers' title in the World Touring Car Championship for the first time in the penultimate round of the season at Okayama.

The Spanish marque wrapped up the crown in the opening race of the weekend after Rickard Rydell secured his second win of the season - putting SEAT out of reach of closest rivals BMW.

Capping a fine weekend for SEAT, Tom Coronel took his maiden win in the second race for the SUNRED team, while the results of the two races mean SEAT pair Yvan Muller and Gabriele Tarquini are now the only people who can take the drivers' crown in the final rounds at Macau.

Muller will head to the Chinese enclave with a 14 point lead over Tarquini, who was unable to score in either race in Japan.

"It has been a fantastic season and we have been fighting for that for several years," SEAT motorsport chief Jaime Puig said. "We have been given new technology from the TDi that has enabled us to do something more with the car. I am very happy as we have not needed to wait until the last race but have taken it in Japan.

"Everyone has worked together to bring home the manufacturers' title - all of the mechanics, engineers and our five drivers.

"We are proud to say that Spain has won all the three main Championships: Formula One with Fernando Alonso, WRC with Carlos Sainz and now WTCC with SEAT."



Loading Comments...