After asking you to vote for your leading drivers from the World Touring Car Championship season, the time has come to start the count-down to the driver you voted the top star of 2008.

Over the next five weekdays, we will be revealing the top ten in reverse order, with two drivers being revealed each day.

After asking you to give each driver a mark out of ten for their performances during the season, each drivers average score was calculated to decide the winner.

So today, seventh and eighth place...

WTCC Driver of the Year - Eighth place:

Name: Alain MenuTeam: ChevroletCar: Chevrolet LacettiWins: 3Poles:1Podiums: 2Championship points: 54Championship position: 9th

Having been Chevrolet's star man in recent years in the World Touring Car Championship, the 2008 season tuned out to be a more trying one for Alain Menu, although he still ended the season with three wins to his name.

Although he took victories at Valencia, Brands Hatch and in the final rounds for the Lacetti at Macau, Menu managed to finish only ninth in the standings with 54 points. Although he also took podium finishes at Brno and Oschersleben, failure to score on 13 occasions ultimately prevented the Swiss star from fighting for the title.

Heading into 2009 armed with the new Cruze model, Menu will hope to return to the kind of form that has marked him out as a championship contender in recent years as Chevrolet targets its first titles in the WTCC.

WTCC Driver of the Year - Seventh place:

Name: Rickard RydellTeam: SEAT SportCar: SEAT Leon TDiWins: 2Poles:1Podiums: 5Championship points: 77Championship position: 5th

In the early stages of the 2008 season, Rickard Rydell looked like being one of the main contenders for the WTCC title as the Swede took three podium finishes in the first four races on his full-time return to the championship.

Failure to score in ten races however would prove to be his undoing, so despite taking to the podium seven times in all - including wins at Estoril and Okayama - Rydell was left to play a supporting role to Yvan Muller and Gabriele Tarquini as the season drew towards its conclusion.

His victory in the first WTCC race held on Japanese soil was enough to secure the manufacturers' crown for SEAT for the first time but Rydell was unable to complete a 1-2-3 for SEAT in the drivers' title after losing out in a three-way battle for the place with Rob Huff and Andy Priaulx.

Tomorrow: Who did you vote fifth and sixth on the list?



Loading Comments...