Tyre suppliers Yokohama and series promoters KSO have revealed the prize fund on offer to Independent drivers in the 2009 World Touring Car Championship season.

Drivers signing up for the Yokohama Independents Trophy will once again compete for 384,000 Euros of prize money, with 32,000 Euros being awarded to the top six drivers in each of the twelve events - ranging from 12,000 Euros to the driver who scores the most points from the two races on each weekend down to 2,000 Euros to the driver in sixth.

The point scoring system will remain the same, with double points on offer in the series finale at Macau, but in a change to the regulations, bonus points will also be brought into play.

The driver to take the Independent pole position and set the fastest Independent lap in each round will secure a single bonus point, while three additional points will be awarded for each point scored towards the overall classification.



Loading Comments...