BMW has revealed its driver line-up for the 2009 World Touring Car Championship season, which will feature one change from the drivers who raced for the German marque in 2008.

Three works teams will once again race during the coming season, with the only change to the drivers coming in the ROAL Motorsport-run BMW Team Italy-Spain squad where reigning Independents' champion Sergio Hernandez will come in to partner Alex Zanardi; replacing countryman Felix Porteiro.

That means Andy Priaulx will once again race for BMW Team UK, with Augusto Farfus and Jorg Muller continuing with BMW Team Germany.

"The national team concept has proved itself both from a sporting and a commercial point of view," BMW motorsport director Mario Theissen said. "This team structure was responsible for us winning every title between 2004 and 2007. It also allows us to involve the national sales organisations at the highest level in the World Touring Car Championship.

"Our team includes five very ambitious drivers, who will do everything to win back the World Championship in 2009."

Porteiro has been linked to a move to a Honda run by Campos Racing for 2009, although such a move has yet to be confirmed.



Loading Comments...