Honda has announced it will increase its factory involvement in the World Touring Car Championship in 2016, with Rob Huff and Norbert Michelisz joining Tiago Monteiro in an official three-car effort.

After three seasons competing with the same drivers, Honda was always destined to shake up its line-up following Gabriele Tarquini's exit in December, but has now confirmed Monteiro will be joined by two new team-mates for 2016.

Former champion Huff makes the move to Honda following a two-season stint with LADA, during which he gave the Russian manufacturer its first WTCC wins in 2014 before taking its new Vesta TC1 model to the podium last year.

Michelisz, meanwhile, will step up to the factory team after several years competing in the series with the privateer Zengo Motorsport team. The Hungarian driver, a four-time WTCC race winner, has driven SEAT and BMW machinery over the years, but won last year's independents' trophy at the wheel of a TC1 Honda Civic.

Honda's increased involvement comes as main rivals Citroen - which has dominated WTCC since the move to TC1 regulations in 2014 - have reduced its factory effort to two entries for 2016 ahead of a withdrawal at the end of the year.

LADA, meanwhile, is tipped to be chasing Tarquini and Hugo Valente to join Nicky Catsburg in its line-up, while Volvo will enter this year with a pair of S60s for Thed Bjork and Fredrik Ekblom.