CLICK HERE to view full WTCC Race 1 results

Jose Maria Lopez has ensured his title-winning year in the World Touring Car Championship is also the most successful in the series' history as he notched up a dominant tenth win of the season at the Macau finale.

Starting from pole position, Lopez got away better than his Citroen counterparts to cling onto the lead through the opening sweep ahead of the fast-starting Norbert Michelisz, and from here proceeded to control the pace all the way to the chequered flag.

Yet another victory for the new champion at the end of what has been a remarkable season for the Argentinian, the tenth success sees him break the record for number of wins achieved in a single year.

Michelisz held onto second place to strengthen his hopes of securing 'best of the rest' status behind the three dominant Citroens in the overall standings, the Hungarian benefiting from his swift getaway to slot ahead of front row sitter Sebastien Loeb at the first turn.

Though Loeb attempted to grab the position back on lap four, he would make a mistake whilst pressuring his rival. That error would drop him behind Gabriele Tarquini, Tiago Monteiro and Yvan Muller, the three drivers coming in third, fourth and fifth respectively, with Loeb ending up sixth at the finish line.

Tom Coronel was the best placed Chevrolet driver, ahead of Ma Qing Hua in the fourth Citroen, while Rob Huff picked up an extra place for LADA at the expense of Mehdi Bennani, who crashed his Honda on the main straight when TC2 driver Henry Kwong nudged the Moroccan whilst being lapped.


Loading Comments...