Jose Maria Lopez has moved closer to back-to-back World Touring Car Championship titles after easing to an eighth win of the season from pole position at the Shanghai International Circuit.

The Argentinian pulled away for a lights-to-flag win for Citroen, the anticipated challenge from team-mate and local hero Ma Qing Hua neutered by his poor getaway, leaving Lopez to escape to victory.

Indeed, Lopez had little to worry about out front as fellow Citroen drivers Yvan Muller and Sebastien Loeb tussled for the remaining podium spots, with Muller prevailing over the former World Rally Championship driver to complete a Citroen 1-2-3.

Behind them, Nicky Catsburg picked up the best result of his short WTCC career in the LADA Vesta with a run to fourth place, heading off top Independents' driver Mehdi Bennani and top Honda driver Norbert Michelisz.

With just ten drivers reaching the finish line, Le Mans winner Nicolas Lapierre picked up a strong seventh place finish in only his second race for LADA, ahead of Hugo Valente, Tiago Monteiro and Stefano D'Aste.

Hua, meanwhile, saw his hopes of a good result ended by gearbox issues, while first lap incidents served to eliminate Tom Coronel, Rob Huff, Tom Chilton, Gabriele Tarquini and John Filippi.


Loading Comments...