Jose Maria Lopez has underlined his superiority over the competition once more in the World Touring Car Championship with a dominant win in race one at the Qatar finale.

The Argentine, who wrapped up a second consecutive world title last month, led away from pole position and would survive a brief first corner squabble before stretching clear for the chequered flag thereafter.

Marking the tenth win of another dominant title campaign, he would come across the line a full seven seconds clear of Mehdi Bennani, who wrapped up his first podium of the 2015 season in the Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen with a confident drive to second position.

In a race largely dominated by the French manufacturer, five of its cars would fill the top six, with Hugo Valente providing the only alternative in third place driving the Campos Chevrolet, ahead of Sebastien Loeb, Ma Qing Hua and Yvan Muller.

Norbert Michelisz, meanwhile, moved one step closer to the independents' trophy with a run to seventh place, ahead of factory Honda driver Tiago Monteiro, LADA's Nicky Catsburg and Stefano D'Aste.


Loading Comments...