Yvan Muller has denied team-mate Sebastien Loeb the runners-up spot in the 2015 World Touring Car Championship standings after securing a victory in the final race of the season at Losail.

The Frenchman ran second from the start behind pole sitter John Filippi, but snatched the lead shortly after an early safety car period despite making contact with his countryman on the way through.

From here Muller stretched his advantage over the competition, coming across the line five seconds clear of Citroen team-mate Ma Qing Hua to ensure he would end the season as runner-up to Jose Maria Lopez.

Loeb, who has been dropped from Citroen's slimmed driver line-up for 2016, ended his time in the series in fourth place, behind Norbert Michelisz, whose podium assured him of the Independents' Trophy for privateers, as well as ensuring he ended the year as the top Honda driver.

Michelisz's main rival for the trophy, Mehdi Bennani, followed up his race one podium with a fifth place finish in race two, ahead of Hugo Valente and Gabriele Tarquini, while champion Lopez had to be content with a quiet run to eighth.

Meanwhile, pole sitter Filippi lost out on the chance of a strong finish after he was handed a drive-through penalty for jumping from his pole position, while a tangle for Nicky Catsburg and Stefano D'Aste ruled them out on the first lap.


Loading Comments...