Click here for full WTCC race one results from Moscow Raceway

Gabriele Tarquini has recorded Lada's first race win in the World Touring Car Championship as the wet weather caused havoc in the opener at Moscow Raceway.

After grabbing a qualifying front row lock-out for the first time in its history in WTCC yesterday, Lada has duly been delivered a first race victory with Tarquini leading home from Nicky Catsburg in treacherous conditions.

After a sudden downpour on the initial formation lap forced an abandoned start with all drivers on slicks, the cars were switched to wet Yokohama tyres with reserve pole-sitter Tiago Monteiro leading before slipping behind Yvan Muller, Mehdi Bennani, Jose Maria Lopez and Tarquini who bolted off the line from ninth.

With the Lada Sport Rosneft cars once again mastering the wet conditions, as seen in qualifying, Tarquini carved his way up the order to win by a comfortable 4.7s margin over Castburg with Muller completing the podium trio.

Hugo Valente, in the third Lada, claimed fourth place ahead of WTCC points leader Lopez narrowly in front of Monteiro and Rob Huff.

James Thompson secured the independent trophy honours for Munnich Motorsport comfortable ahead of a fading Bennani as Norbert Michelisz completed the points-paying places.