Click here for full WTCC race two results from Motegi

Jose Maria Lopez has handed the main race victory to Citroen team-mate Yvan Muller after all-but securing a third straight WTCC championship crown with second place at Motegi.

With Lopez taking second place the Argentina after slowing down to let Muller pass on the penultimate lap, he has moved 120 points clear of nearest title rivals Tiago Monteiro, who took third in race two in Japan, and winner Muller with three rounds remaining and officially 165 points available.

However, if the Thailand WTCC round is scrapped - with the Chang International Circuit struggling for funding to host the penultimate round of the 2016 championship - the remainder of the year will be slimmed to two rounds and a maximum of only 110 points available, effectively handing Lopez the title.

Confirmation of the cancelation of the Thai round isn't expected until the next FIA World Motor Sport council meeting but both Lopez and Citroen looked comfortable in celebrating a third straight world title. Lopez will leave WTCC at the end of the year to move to Formula E which starts in Hong Kong later this year.

With the championship top three all on the podium Mehdi Bennani grabbed the best of the rest tag in fourth ahead of debutant Nestor Girolami in an impressive fifth place.

Tom Chilton took sixth in front of Thed Bjork as race one winner Norbert Michelisz settled for eighth ahead of Honda team-mate Rob Huff and Gabriele Tarquini.



Loading Comments...