There were many people to come away from the opening round of the British Superbike Championship this weekend with a smile on their faces, although arguably the men owning the biggest grins were Sylvain Guintoli and Leon Camier following their victorious turns at Brands Hatch.

A win and a second place finish for Guintoli makes his disappointing exit from MotoGP seem like a distant memory as he heads to the second round with an early championship lead, while Camier is seven points adrift after backing up his race win with another recovery ride to fourth.

A second and a fifth puts Glen Richards in third position, ahead of fellow Honda rider Stuart Easton who can tick a BSB podium and a race lead off his to-do list after this weekend.

Other notable efforts come from Gary Mason, who not only claimed two clear Cup victories, but comes away a superb sixth in the overall standings. Kawasaki will also be pleased to see all four of their riders score at Brands Hatch, with Simon Andrews their best representative in eighth.

Full British Superbike Championship rider standings (After 1 round of 12)

1. Sylvain Guintoli Worx Crescent Suzuki 45 points 2. Leon Camier Airwaves Yamaha 38 3. Glen Richards HM Plant Honda 31 4. Stuart Easton Hydrex Honda 29 5. James Ellison Airwaves Yamaha 20 6. Gary Mason Quay Mason C 17 7. Steve Plater HM Plant Honda 16 8. Simon Andrews MSS Colchester Kawasaki 14 9. Jason O'Halloran SMT Honda 12 10. Julien Da Costa MSS Colchester Kawasaki 11 11. Chris Walker Motorpoint/Henderson Yamaha 10 12. Karl Harris Hydrex Honda 10 13. Graeme Gowland Motorpoint/Henderson 8 14. Tristan Palmer Buildbase Kawasaki 8 15. John Laverty Buildbase Kawasaki 7 16. Ian Lowry Relentless Suzuki 3 17. Jon Kirkham Jentin Yamaha 1

Full British Superbike Championship manufacturer standings (After 1 round of 12 -

1. Suzuki 45 points 2. Yamaha 38 3. Honda 36 4. Kawasaki 15

Full British Superbike Cup rider standings (After 1 round of 12)

1. Gary Mason Quay Mason 50 points 2. Martin Jessopp Riders Racing Honda 40 points 3. Peter Hickman Ultimate Yamaha 32 4. Kenny Gilbertson JX Fuelcard Kawasaki 23 5. Alastair Fagan Red Viper Honda 13 6. Brian McCormack MAR Kawasaki 11


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment