For Leon Camier, the statistics of the 2009 MCE British Superbike Championship make for some impressive reading.

In 26 races, the 23-year-old scored a record 19 race wins, nine pole positions, 18 fastest laps, not a single retirement (save for his Cadwell Park disqualification) and a winning margin of 136.5 points over runner-up James Ellison.

Almost a foregone conclusion since taking the lead of the standings from Sylvain Guintoli at Oulton Park, Ellison chased hard but would ultimately slip into a battle for second with Stuart Easton. Nonetheless, with 23 wins between them, they helped to ensure Yamaha were the big winners in the manufacturers' standings.

Easton was one of the year's standout performers, managing two race wins to take on and beat HM Plant so to finish as the top Honda rider. Josh Brookes might have posed a bigger threat had he not missed four rounds, but while his debut season in BSB was certainly controversial at times, eleven podiums was a decent return for the Australian.

Indeed, a flurry of good results in the latter half of the season helped Brookes make up ground in the battle for fourth place overall, surging past a gaggle of riders that had been disputing the position for much of the year.

In the end, the revised battle for fifth would see Ian Lowry emerge as the unlikely front runner after being rewarded for some superb consistency in his first season of Superbikes. Finishing inside the top six on seven occasions, Lowry surpassed Michael Laverty's efforts on the Relentless bike the previous season to come away as the top Superbike rookie - and Suzuki rider.

Kawasaki's return to form was also a big story of the 2009 season, with Simon Andrews and Julien Da Costa finishing just half a point apart in sixth and seventh. Andrews was the headline-maker with his run to the podium at Cadwell Park, although many will remember the Brookes incident as being the moment when he was robbed of a maiden win. Having been considered a surprise addition pre-season, Da Costa proved himself to be a shrewd choice for MSS Colchester as he brought the ZX-10R home more often than not to run his team-mate very close.

After a slow start to the year, John Laverty was also a star performer on the Buildbase Kawasaki machine, landing tenth in the standings after scoring four top five finishes in the final ten races.

It wasn't quite enough to get him ahead of Sylvain Guintoli, who recovered to eighth following a lengthy absence with injury, and Chris Walker, whose contention for fourth was ruined by reliability issues with his Motorpoint/Henderson Yamaha.

Elsewhere, Tommy Hill rose to 11th overall, despite only competing for half a season, ahead of the man he replaced at Hydrex Honda, Karl Harris, who slumped from an early high of third to finish the year in 14th - four positions lower than in 2008.

We won't be seeing giant-killer Gary Mason on a Cup machine again any time soon after he finished the year 13th overall in the standings, equal on points with factory rider Glen Richards. Taking the ageing Quay Garage Honda to some remarkable results this year, Mason is tipped to be a man in demand over the winter.

In all, 38 riders would score at least a point in 2009, including World Superbike rider Broc Parkes, who scored more points in three races at BSB level than he is destined to do during a full season of World Superbike racing...

Final MCE British Superbike Championship rider standings (After 12 round of 12 - Previous season's position in brackets)

1. (5) Leon Camier Airwaves Yamaha 549.5 points 2. (7) James Ellison Airwaves Yamaha 413 3. (13) Stuart Easton Hydrex Honda 374 4. (-) Joshua Brookes HM Plant Honda 188 5. (-) Ian Lowry Relentless Suzuki 170 6. (8) Simon Andrews MSS Colchester Kawasaki 163.5 7. (-) Julien Da Costa MSS Colchester Kawasaki 163 8. (-) Sylvain Guintoli Worx Crescent Suzuki 147 9. (-) Chris Walker Motorpoint/Henderson Yamaha 141 10. (17) John Laverty Buildbase Kawasaki 130.5 11. (-) Tommy Hill Worx Crescent Suzuki/Hydrex Honda 127 12. (-) Glen Richards HM Plant Honda 125 13. (16) Gary Mason Quay Mason C 125 14. (11) Karl Harris Hydrex Honda/Node4 Yamaha/SMT 124.5 15. (-) Graeme Gowland Motorpoint/Henderson 101.5 16. (6) Michael Rutter Yamaha/Suzuki/Honda/Kawasaki/Ducati 78 17. (-) Broc Parkes Kawasaki SRT60 18. (-) Tommy Bridewell Team NB Suzuki 56 19. (20) Jason O'Halloran SMT Honda 54 20. (-) Karl Muggeridge HM Plant Honda 44 21. (10) Tristan Palmer Buildbase Kawasaki 35 22. (33) Peter Hickman Ultimate Yamaha 35 23. (-) Steve Brogan HM Plant Honda 27.5 24. (25) Jon Kirkham Jentin Yamaha/North West 200/Node 4 21 25. (28) Steve Plater HM Plant Honda 16 26. (19) David Johnson Maxxis Adept Yamaha 14.5 27. (-) Sheridan Morais Kawasaki SRT 14 28. (15) Atsushi Watanabe Relentless Suzuki 14 29. (-) Ryuichi Kiyonari HM Plant Honda 13 30. (-) Tom Tunstall Hardinge Doodson Honda 12 31. (-) Alastair Seeley Relentless by TAS Suzuki 9 32. (30) Martin Jessopp Riders Racing Honda 7 33. (-) Richard Cooper Team Co-ordit Yamaha 5.5 34. (-) Howie Mainwaring Maxxis Adept Yamaha 5 35. (-) John McGuinness HM Plant Honda 4 36. (32) Aaron Zanotti Red Viper Honda 1 37. (-) Kenny Gilbertson Jx Fuelcard Kawasaki 1 38. (-) Dan Linfoot Node4 Yamaha 1

Final MCE British Superbike Championship manufacturer standings (After 12 round of 12 - Previous season's position in brackets)

1. (4) Yamaha 615.5 points 2. (2) Honda 465 3. (3) Suzuki 293 4. (5) Kawasaki 285.5 5. (1) Ducati 13

Finall British Superbike Cup rider standings (After 12 round of 12 - Previous season's in brackets)

1. (3) Gary Mason Quay Mason 635.5 points 2. (-) Peter Hickman Ultimate Yamaha 381 3. (2) Martin Jessopp Riders Racing Honda 326 4. (4) Tom Tunstall Hardinge Doodson Honda 315.5 5. (-) Tommy Bridewell Team NB Suzuki 300 6. (15) Kenny Gilbertson JX Fuelcard Kawasaki 85 7. (-) Alastair Fagan Red Viper Honda 74 8. (-) Matt Bond MIST Suzuki 68 9. (17) Brian McCormack MAR Kawasaki 30 10.. (-) Richard Cooper Team Co-ordit Yamaha 25.5 11. (-) David Haire DHR Honda 23 12. (10) Malcolm Ashley MAR Kawasaki 11 13. (11) Dan Stewart Wilcock Honda 10


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment