The Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) has issued its provisional calendar of race dates for 2011, with ten events over the course of the campaign that will see the hugely popular tin-top series once again cover the length-and-breadth of the country and retain the current format of three points-scoring races per weekend.

The world-famous circuits of Brands Hatch and Silverstone will play host to the season's opening and closing meetings respectively, with the ultra-fast Thruxton moving back from the curtain-raiser to instead stage round three over the May Day Bank Holiday weekend and Donington Park and Rockingham switching to opposite ends of the schedule in relation to 2010.

Oulton Park, Croft, Snetterton and Knockhill complete the calendar as they have done in recent years, with the seven-week mid-summer break similarly remaining.

"Thanks to all our circuits and the British Automobile Racing Club (BARC) for enabling us to be so ahead-of-the-game in informing our competitors, partners, the media and public of next year's BTCC calendar," remarked series director Alan Gow. "By doing so, we also hope other high-profile motorsport events can plan around these dates and hopefully avoid some of the ridiculous clashes that in recent years have proven to be highly frustrating for both fans and organising clubs, whose resources have been stretched to breaking-point.

"Above all, the BTCC in 2011 will continue to race at the premier motorsport venues around the country - a geographical spread that is of huge importance to sponsors and which also enables hundreds of thousands of fans from almost every corner of the UK to see the BTCC in action in their own backyard. We very much look forward to seeing them again in 2011."

Provisional 2010 BTCC calendar:

April 3 Brands Hatch
April 17 Donington Park
May 1 Thruxton
June 5 Oulton Park
June 19 Croft
August 7 Snetterton
September 4 Knockhill
September 18 Rockingham
October 2 Brands Hatch
October 16 Silverstone