McLaren-Mercedes team principal Martin Whitmarsh has been appointed as the new chairman of the Formula One Teams' Association (FOTA) for 2010, after Ferrari President Luca di Montezemolo relinquished the role following a year-and-a-half at the helm since its foundation.

Whitmarsh acted as the chairman of the Sporting Regulations Working Group until di Montezemolo took his decision to step down late last year, but following a reunion of the organisation's executive committee, the Englishman has now been promoted to the leading role.

Red Bull Racing counterpart Christian Horner will assume Whitmarsh's previous responsibilities, with Ferrari team principal Stefano Domenicali replacing former Toyota Motorsport President John Howett as FOTA vice-chairman. Mercedes Grand Prix team principal Ross Brawn will remain chairman of the Technical Regulations Working Group, whilst the activities of the Commercial Development Working Group will be directly managed by the executive committee.

'All members placed on record their thanks to Luca di Montezemolo for his valuable leadership and remarkable contribution in the successful establishment of FOTA, as well as all the other key figures who contributed greatly to a successful first year,' read a statement issued by the groundbreaking teams' body.

'FOTA teams now look forward to working with Martin Whitmarsh to continue the development of activities in the long-term interest of Formula 1, in collaboration with all other stakeholders.

'Each member of the association, which now includes all teams competing in Formula 1, is entitled to appoint one representative within the executive committee and within each of the standing working groups. The different bodies work closely together in order to define FOTA's objectives and initiatives.'