The annual list of F1 salaries has again been published, and while Fernando Alonso remains top, he has now been joined by Lewis Hamilton.

The report - published by Spanish newspaper El Mundo Deportivo and citing information compiled by Business Book GP - reckons both are now on around EUR20 million, Hamilton getting an extra EUR4 million per year following his switch from McLaren to Mercedes.

Interestingly though, the same publication had Alonso on a retainer of EUR30 million in 2012 - it is unclear why this estimate for the Ferrari #1 has now been revised...

Jenson Button meanwhile remains third, taking home EUR16 million, while triple F1 world champion, Sebastian Vettel has got an increase and now earns EUR12 million with Red Bull, EUR1 million a year more than Nico Rosberg and EUR2 million a year more than Mark Webber.

Felipe Massa has had a pay cut, reduced from EUR10 million a year to EUR6 million, while Kimi Raikkonen seems to be a relative bargain for Lotus on only EUR3 million a year (EUR2 million less than the figure quoted in 2012), although it is rumoured his pot is boosted substantially according to how he performs and how many points he scores.

Further back, Sergio Perez is now earning three times more than last year following his move to McLaren, with the Woking-based team paying him EUR1.5 million a season. Romain Grosjean, Nico Hulkenberg and Pastor Maldonado are the only other drivers said to be in the EUR1 million a year bracket, with Valtteri Bottas on EUR600,000, ahead of Jules Bianchi and Adrian Sutil on EUR500,000 apiece.

The full breakdown is below...


1. Fernando Alonso Ferrari EUR20m
= Lewis Hamilton Mercedes EUR20m
3. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes EUR16m
4. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing EUR12m
5. Nico Rosberg Mercedes EUR11m
6. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing EUR10m
7. Felipe Massa Ferrari EUR6m
8. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus F1 Team EUR3m
9. Sergio Perez McLaren-Mercedes EUR1.5m
10. Romain Grosjean Lotus F1 Team EUR1m
= Pastor Maldonado Williams EUR1m
= Nico Hulkenberg Sauber EUR1m
13. Valtteri Bottas Williams EUR600,000
14. Jules Bianchi Marussia EUR500,000
= Adrian Sutil Force India F1 EUR500,000
16. Paul di Resta Force India F1 EUR400,000
= Daniel Ricciardo Scuderia Toro Rosso EUR400,000
= Jean-Eric Vergne Scuderia Toro Rosso EUR400,000
19. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber EUR200,000
20. Charles Pic Caterham EUR150,000
= Giedo van der Garde Caterham EUR150,000
= Max Chilton Marussia EUR150,000

What the F1 teams spent on drivers in 2013:

1. Mercedes EUR31m
2. Ferrari EUR26m
3. Red Bull Racing EUR22m
4. McLaren-Mercedes EUR17.5m
5. Lotus F1 team EUR4m
6. Williams EUR1.6m
7. Sauber EUR1.2m
8. Force India EUR900,000
9. Scuderia Toro Rosso EUR800,000
10. Marussia EUR650,000
11. Caterham EUR300,000

To compare to the 2012 salaries, CLICK HERE

Like F1? 'Like' the Facebook page to receive news directly to your timeline...


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment