It has been another good week for recently-crowned 2008 Formula 1 World Champion Lewis Hamilton, who has been honoured for his title success and startling 2007 rookie season in the top flight with the receipt of two prestigious awards to add to his burgeoning trophy cabinet.

The McLaren-Mercedes star - who came within a whisker of glory in his maiden campaign in the top flight last year, courtesy of four victories and a run of nine straight podium finishes at the start of the season - was presented with the Segrave Trophy by British racing legend Sir Stirling Moss during a glittering awards lunch at The Royal Automobile Club in Pall Mall.

The 23-year-old was selected for the accolade by dint of his magnificent F1 debut, during which he surpassed Bruce McLaren's record to become the youngest driver ever to head the standings.

The Segrave Trophy is named after the world land and water speed record-holder Sir Henry Segrave, and is awarded annually to a British subject for outstanding achievements in transport on land, water or in the air.

Sir Henry Segrave was a fighter pilot during World War One and after the war became the first British driver to win a grand prix in a British car. He also set three land speed records and became the first person to travel at over 200mph. Whilst holding the land speed record, he set a new world water speed record in 1930 on Lake Windermere, but was tragically killed on the next run when his boat, Miss England II, capsized at speed.

Lady Segrave presented the trophy that bears her husband's name to The Royal Automobile Club, to be awarded to those individuals who give the most outstanding demonstration of transport by land, air or water and in so doing show skill, courage and initiative - the spirit of adventure.

"It gives great pleasure to be here at The Royal Automobile Club," Hamilton remarked, "and I want to say a big thank you to the members of the Segrave Trophy Committee for this honour. 2007 was an incredible season for me; I was really thrown into the limelight and into this amazing world.

"I just tried to do the best job and represent my country the best way I could, and even though we didn't win the championship, it was still a fantastic season. I did the job this year and I'm very proud to have won the world championship for the country, for my family and for the team. I'm now going to put this award on my mantelpiece and enjoy it."

"On behalf of the Royal Automobile Club we are delighted to award the Segrave Trophy to Lewis Hamilton for his excellent debut season in Formula 1," added Dr Stephen Hammerton, chairman of the Segrave Trophy Nominations Committee.

"In 2007 Lewis demonstrated the grit and determination of a true champion in the face of fierce competition from some of the best racing drivers in the world. Not only did he surpass everyone's expectations by finishing on the podium twelve times in 17 races and very nearly winning the world driver's title at his first attempt, but he also re-ignited the British public's interest in the sport.

"The attributes so clearly demonstrated in 2007 have helped Lewis to the success he richly deserved this season, and I'm sure Sir Henry Segrave would have been the first to acknowledge Lewis' outstanding achievements.

"The Segrave Trophy Roll of Honour stretches back to 1930 and includes luminaries from all forms of endeavours on land, on water and in the air. Lewis Hamilton's name is now added to the list that includes Amy Johnson, Donald Campbell, Sir Stirling Moss, Bruce McLaren, Sir Jackie Stewart and Sir Richard Branson amongst the very special individuals whose names are connected with this impressive, and very unique, trophy.

"Lewis Hamilton richly deserves the other awards and plaudits for becoming the youngest-ever Formula 1 World Champion and on behalf of The Royal Automobile Club I congratulate him on this achievement but we, the members of the Segrave Trophy Nominations Committee, wanted to recognise his impressive first season in Formula 1 - and it is for this reason Lewis Hamilton is awarded the 2007 Segrave Trophy."

As if that was not enough, the Stevenage-born ace was also the star attraction at the British Racing Drivers' Club (BRDC) Annual Awards Luncheon at The Caf? Royal in London, attended by the British Prime Minister Gordon Brown, as a distinguished guest to present Hamilton with the coveted Richard Seaman Trophy.

"On behalf of the whole of the British people, it is a privilege to be able to present this award to Lewis Hamilton," commented Brown, "for his great successes this year and for the years to come, in a great sport that makes us so proud of Britain. Lewis Hamilton is a true world champion."

Hamilton received a standing ovation as he picked up no fewer than five accolades - including his second and third BRDC Gold Stars, presented to him by ten-time BRDC Gold Star-winner Moss. On stage, the sport's youngest-ever title-winner spoke openly about his remarkable 2008 season, the challenges he faces next year and his enthusiasm for being a member of the BRDC.

Going on to turn the tables, on behalf of his fellow BRDC members Hamilton then bestowed a unique honour on a surprised Moss, inviting him to become the club's first 'Vice-President for Life'. The position, in recognition of the 16-time grand prix-winner's six decades of membership and all that he has done for the BRDC during that period, was duly accepted by the man deemed to be the greatest F1 driver never to have claimed the ultimate trophy.

"Not a day has gone by in the last 60 years when you have not worn the club badge on either your lapel, tie or overalls," Hamilton said to Moss. "You have been the ultimate ambassador and utterly dedicated and loyal to the BRDC and all that it stands for. Our club wishes you to accept, with immediate effect, the position of its first Vice-President for Life."

Other awards went the way of British Touring Car Championship front-runner Jason Plato - who was honoured with the BRDC's highest national racing accolade, the BRDC Silver Star - David Coulthard, who was presented with the Earl Howe Trophy for his rostrum finish in the Canadian Grand Prix and McLaren team principal Ron Dennis, who received the BRDC Gold Medal - only the ninth of its kind to be presented by the club since the award's inception in 1996.

Scott Dixon (Bruce McLaren Trophy), Alexander Sims (Chris Bristow Trophy), Sir Frank Williams (Colin Chapman Trophy), Rob Bell (Fairfield Trophy), Bradley Ellis (Innes Ireland Trophy), Oliver Turvey (John Cooper Trophy and Spencer-Charrington Trophy), Kimi Raikkonen (Johnny Wakefield Trophy), Virgo Motorsport (Nigel Moores Trophy), Allan McNish and Dindo Capello (Silverstone-Le Mans Challenge), Steve Hallam (Sir Jackie Stewart Award), Darren Turner and David Brabham (Woolf Barnato Trophy) and Allan McNish (ACO Award) were the remaining silverware recipients.