Lewis Hamilton and Mark Webber will both take penalties before they line-up on the grid on Sunday for the F1 2013 Bahrain Grand Prix. Hamilton drops five places to ninth because of a gearbox change, while Webber loses three places after his collision with Jean-Eric Vergne in China last Sunday.

Nico Rosberg will start from pole position, his second at the pinnacle of the sport and Mercedes' second in succession. Sebastian Vettel will start alongside him, with the Ferraris of Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa on row two.

Esteban Gutierrez will line-up last - dropping from 18th to 22nd following the five-place drop he incurred in Shanghai after crashing into Adrian Sutil.

Starting grid

Row 1
1. Nico Rosberg Germany Mercedes-Mercedes
2. Sebastian Vettel Germany Red Bull-Renault

Row 2
3. Fernando Alonso Spain Ferrari-Ferrari
4. Felipe Massa Brazil Ferrari-Ferrari

Row 3
5 Paul di Resta Britain Force India-Mercedes
6. Adrian Sutil Germany Force India-Mercedes

Row 4
7. Mark Webber Australia Red Bull-Renault*
8. Kimi Raikkonen Finland Lotus-Renault

Row 5
9. Lewis Hamilton Britain Mercedes-Mercedes*
10. Jenson Button Britain McLaren-Mercedes

Row 6
11. Romain Grosjean France Lotus-Renault
12. Sergio Perez Mexico McLaren-Mercedes

Row 7
13. Daniel Ricciardo Australia Toro Rosso-Ferrari
14. Nico Hulkenberg Germany Sauber-Ferrari

Row 8
15. Valtteri Bottas Finland Williams-Renault
16. Jean-Eric Vergne France Toro Rosso-Ferrari

Row 9
17. Pastor Maldonado Venezuela Williams-Renault
18. Charles Pic France Caterham-Renault

Row 10
19. Jules Bianchi France Marussia-Cosworth
20. Giedo van der Garde Holland Caterham-Renault

Row 11
21. Max Chilton Britain Marussia-Cosworth
22. Esteban Gutierrez Mexico Sauber-Ferrari*

* denotes grid penalty