Helio Castroneves and Sam Hornish Jr appear determined to give their team boss Roger Penske something to remember in the last race at the track he built. The two Marlboro Penske runners secured the front row of the grid for Sunday's Firestone Indy 225, the 100th Indy Racing League event and the last at Nazareth Speedway which shuts its doors at the end of the year. Castroneves won this race by less than two tenths of a second last year from Hornish, who then was driving for Panther Racing.

Championship leader Tony Kanaan will line up third, with his on-form Andretti-Green Racing team-mate Dario Franchitti alongside. Franchitti won last week at Pikes Peak and enjoys the short tracks. Seemingly out of form after a very strong mid-season is the Rahal-Letterman team - Kanaan's closest title challenger Buddy Rice starts 10th, a place behind his team-mate Vitor Meira.

The Firestone Indy 225 is due to take the green flag at around 2pm Eastern Time on Sunday, that's 7pm in the UK. Check back to Crash.net for a full race report and results.

Qualifying times, Firestone Indy 225, Nazareth Speedway, 2004 Indy Racing League round 13 of 16.

1. Helio Castroneves #3 Dallara Toyota Marlboro Team Penske 167.396mph
2. Sam Hornish Jr #6 Dallara Toyota Marlboro Team Penske 167.2100mph
3. Tony Kanaan #11 Dallara Honda Andretti Green Racing166.591mph
4. Dario Franchitti #27 Dallara Honda Andretti Green Racing 165.684mph
5. Darren Manning #10 G-Force Toyota Target Chip Ganassi Racing 165.609mph
6. Adrian Fernandez #5 G Force HondaFernandez Racing 165.566mph
7. Bryan Herta #7 Dallara Honda Andretti Green Racing 165.435mph
8. Dan Wheldon #26 Dallara Honda Andretti Green Racing 165.093mph
9. Vitor Meira #17 G-Force Honda Rahal-Letterman Racing 165.053mph
10. Buddy Rice #15 G-Force Honda Team Rahal 164.507mph
11. Tomas Scheckter #4 Dallara Chevrolet Panther Racing 164.358mph
12. Scott Dixon #1 G-Force Toyota Target Chip Ganassi Racing 163.930mph
13. Townsend Bell #2 Dallara Chevrolet Panther Racing 163.749mph
14. Alex Barron #51 Dallara Chevrolet Red Bull Cheever Racing 163.409mph
15. Mark Taylor #13 G-Force Honda Access Motorsports 163.316mph
16. Jacques Lazier #20 Dallara Chevrolet Partrick Racing 162.767mph
17. AJ Foyt IV #14 Dallara Toyota AJ Foyt Enterprises 161.860mph
18. Kosuke Matsuura #55 G-Force Honda Super Aguri Fernandez Racing 161.388mph
19. Felipe Giaffone #24 Dallara Chevrolet Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 160.962mph
20. Tora Takagi #12 Dallara Toyota Mo Nunn Racing 160.612mph
21. Scott Sharp #8 Dallara Toyota Kelley Racing 160.432mph
22. Ed Carpenter #52 Dallara Chevrolet Red Bull Cheever Racing no time


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment