IndyCar »

Qualifying times: Firestone Indy 225.

Helio Castroneves and Sam Hornish Jr appear determined to give their team boss Roger Penske something to remember in the last race at the track he built. The two Marlboro Penske runners secured the front row of the grid for Sunday's Firestone Indy 225, the 100th Indy Racing League event and the last at Nazareth Speedway which shuts its doors at the end of the year. Castroneves won this race by less than two tenths of a second last year from Hornish, who then was driving for Panther Racing.

Championship leader Tony Kanaan will line up third, with his on-form Andretti-Green Racing team-mate Dario Franchitti alongside. Franchitti won last week at Pikes Peak and enjoys the short tracks. Seemingly out of form after a very strong mid-season is the Rahal-Letterman team – Kanaan's closest title challenger Buddy Rice starts 10th, a place behind his team-mate Vitor Meira.

The Firestone Indy 225 is due to take the green flag at around 2pm Eastern Time on Sunday, that's 7pm in the UK. Check back to for a full race report and results.

Qualifying times, Firestone Indy 225, Nazareth Speedway, 2004 Indy Racing League round 13 of 16.

1. Helio Castroneves #3 Dallara Toyota Marlboro Team Penske 167.396mph
2. Sam Hornish Jr #6 Dallara Toyota Marlboro Team Penske 167.2100mph
3. Tony Kanaan #11 Dallara Honda Andretti Green Racing166.591mph
4. Dario Franchitti #27 Dallara Honda Andretti Green Racing 165.684mph
5. Darren Manning #10 G-Force Toyota Target Chip Ganassi Racing 165.609mph
6. Adrian Fernandez #5 G Force HondaFernandez Racing 165.566mph
7. Bryan Herta #7 Dallara Honda Andretti Green Racing 165.435mph
8. Dan Wheldon #26 Dallara Honda Andretti Green Racing 165.093mph
9. Vitor Meira #17 G-Force Honda Rahal-Letterman Racing 165.053mph
10. Buddy Rice #15 G-Force Honda Team Rahal 164.507mph
11. Tomas Scheckter #4 Dallara Chevrolet Panther Racing 164.358mph
12. Scott Dixon #1 G-Force Toyota Target Chip Ganassi Racing 163.930mph
13. Townsend Bell #2 Dallara Chevrolet Panther Racing 163.749mph
14. Alex Barron #51 Dallara Chevrolet Red Bull Cheever Racing 163.409mph
15. Mark Taylor #13 G-Force Honda Access Motorsports 163.316mph
16. Jacques Lazier #20 Dallara Chevrolet Partrick Racing 162.767mph
17. AJ Foyt IV #14 Dallara Toyota AJ Foyt Enterprises 161.860mph
18. Kosuke Matsuura #55 G-Force Honda Super Aguri Fernandez Racing 161.388mph
19. Felipe Giaffone #24 Dallara Chevrolet Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 160.962mph
20. Tora Takagi #12 Dallara Toyota Mo Nunn Racing 160.612mph
21. Scott Sharp #8 Dallara Toyota Kelley Racing 160.432mph
22. Ed Carpenter #52 Dallara Chevrolet Red Bull Cheever Racing no time

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Helio Castroneves took pole for Penske in the IRL`s 100th race.
Team-mates Castroneves and Hornish planned to give Roge rPenske one last win at the Nazareth track he built.
Championship leader Tony Kanaan, third on the Nazareth grid and keeping cool about it.
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Simon Pagenaud Phoenix IndyCar
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Simon Penske - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Bret Kelley]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.