The South African clinched the overall prize by finishing 2-5 over the two nights. Fellow Yamaha rider Chad Reed won the opening night, with Honda's Jake Weimer the surprise winner of a dramatic second day.

"That was the craziest race of my entire life," said an elated Langston. "I was hit about 15 times out there tonight, and I hit 15 people myself. I didn't know where I was at, so I kept looking at my pit board. I never gave up tonight."

When the gate dropped, the field of 14 riders sprinted to the first turn. Reed, Langston and Tim Ferry tangled in turn one. Meanwhile, Weimer won the Progressive Holeshot with fellow Honda rider Josh Demuth in tow.

"I never gave up after that crash," added Langston.

On lap 11 Reed and Honda's Andrew Short collided and crashed. Upon re-entering the race, Reed crashed again with Langston! Weimer held on for the win, Demuth finished second and Suzuki's Mike Alessi finished third.

"That was an awesome race," said Weimer. "I crashed last night and made up for it tonight with a great start."

On the opening night, Reed led all 20 laps of the main event, beating Langston and Short respectively.

"I was going for the holeshot and went down," said Reed. "Timmy (Ferry) had a bad night last night... we race with a lot of emotion and things happen."

Although Langston and Reed were tied in overall points, Langston was awarded the victory due to his fifth-place finish over Reed's eighth-place finish. In the two-race format, the results of the second race take precedence over the first race.

Honda's Mike LaRocco swept both nights of racing in the Alpinestars Rematch race. LaRocco, who won the 2002 U.S. Open championship, and Jeff Emig, who won the 1999 U.S. Open championship, traded positions several times in the second main event before Emig stalled the bike in the corner, allowing LaRocco to run away with the win.

Open Class Results Overall Results
1) Grant Langston, Clermont, Fla., Yamaha, 38pts, 2-5
2) Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 38pts, 1-8
3) Josh Demuth, Keller, Texas, Honda, 37pts, 6-2
4) Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Honda, 36pts, 10-1
5) Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 36pts, 5-3
6) Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 34pts, 3-7
7) Dan Reardon, Australia, Honda, 32pts, 7-4
8) Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, KTM, 28pts, 8-6
9) Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 27pts, 4-12
10) Michael Byrne, Newnan, Ga., Suzuki, 22pts, 9-11

Alpinestars Rematch Race Overall Results
1) Mike LaRocco
2) Damon Huffman
3) Jeff Emig


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment