Dutchman Marc de Reuver claimed an eventful overall victory at his home grand prix at Lierop on Sunday, while David Philippaerts moved a step closer to the 2008 MX1 crown.

Sand specialist de Reuver won the penultimate round of the 2008 championship championship by winning race one, then battled back from two accidents to claim third in race two.

Belgian Ken de Dycker proved the Honda rider's nearest challenger, winning the second moto, but the Teka Suzuki competitor fell whilst battling de Reuver in the closing stages of race one, leaving him just ninth at the flag.

KTM's Jonathan Barragan inherited second after that mistake, but the Spaniard was sent over the 'bars during moto two - then hit by de Reuver, who later fell again whilst leading!

Another KTM rider, Max Nagl, eventually collected second behind de Dycker in race two - handing the German third overall behind de Reuver and de Dycker - while third and fifth was enough for David Philippaerts to extend his title lead by 14 points over reigning champion Steve Ramon heading into the season finale, to be held on David's home Italian soil at Faenza next weekend.

Teka Suzuki rider Ramon suffered a disappointing day at an event where he was tipped to take the title lead, finishing just seventh and eighth around a circuit where he claimed the world championship one year ago.

Philippaerts' Monster Energy team-mate Josh Coppins was fourth in race one, then delivered an exciting charge to reach race leader de Dycker by the penultimate lap of race two - but hit a hay bale and fell, leaving the Kiwi to collect sixth.

In the MX2 class championship leader Tyla Rattray took a crucial double victory over KTM team-mate Tommy Searle and will take a 'safe' 33 point lead into the season finale.

Things are closer behind, with Nicolas Aubin, Sean Simpson and Rui Goncalves all moving ahead of absent double champion Antonio Cairoli - and separated by just 16 points.

The 2008 Women's World Championship ended on Sunday with Livia Lancelot taking a clean sweep as the French rider won both the overall and the Title to become the first ever Women's Motocross World Champion. Steffi Laier took second in the GP and the championship.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment