A full (but still provisional) entry list for the 2012 MotoGP World Championship has been released, confirming riders, teams, race numbers and the inclusion of nine 'CRT' bikes.

The list confirms a total of 21 bikes for the start of the new 1000cc era (four more than last year) headed by new double world champion Casey Stoner, who will assume the No.1 plate on his Honda, while Jorge Lorenzo reverts back to No.99.

As expected, the Claiming Rule Team entrants - allowed engine and fuel concessions - are headlined by Forward Racing's Colin Edwards on a Suter-BMW, plus Aspar's Randy de Puniet and Aleix Espargaro on the complete Aprilia CRT entry (running under the machine name 'ART').

The FIM also confirms that James Ellison and Anthony West will use the Aprilia (ART) machine, the former for Paul Bird Racing, the latter for Speed Master.

The four other CRT places go to Danilo Petrucci on an Aprilia-powered Ioda, Yonny Hernandez and Ivan Silva on the BQR FTR-Kawasakis, plus Michele Pirro on the Gresini FTR-Honda (engine and electronics to be supplied by Ten Kate)

Moto2 champion Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda) will be the only rookie on a non-CRT bike, with the other class newcomers being Petrucci, Pirro and Hernandez.

West, Espargaro and Ellison are all returning to MotoGP, having previously raced for at least one season in the class, while Silva made four premier-class appearances in 2006-07.

No title sponsors were given.

Provisional 2012 MotoGP Entry List

1 Casey Stoner AUS Honda Team (HONDA)
4 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Yamaha Tech 3 (YAMAHA)
5 Colin Edwards USA Forward Racing (SUTER) *
6 Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (HONDA)
8 Hector Barbera SPA Pramac Racing Team (DUCATI)
9 Danilo Petrucci ITA Ioda Racing Project (IODA) *
11 Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory Racing (YAMAHA)
13 Anthony West AUS Speed Master (ART) *
14 Randy De Puniet FRA Aspar Team MotoGP (ART) *
17 Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (DUCATI)
19 Alvaro Bautista SPA Honda Gresini (HONDA)
20 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aspar Team MotoGP (ART) *
22 Ivan Silva SPA BQR (FTR) *
26 Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda Team (HONDA)
35 Cal Crutchlow GBR Yamaha Tech 3 (YAMAHA)
46 Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Team (DUCATI)
51 Michele Pirro ITA Honda Gresini (FTR) *
68 Yonny Hernandez COL BQR (FTR) *
69 Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (DUCATI)
77 James Ellison GBR Paul Bird Racing (ART) *
99 Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha Factory Racing (YAMAHA)

* CRT (Claiming Rule Team)


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment