UPDATE 2: Repsol: "In addition to the little finger [fracture] of his right hand, Marc has also fractured one of the toes on his left foot. He will ride in Q2."

UPDATE 1: Repsol Honda: "Marc has a small fracture in his little finger of right hand. No need for operation though and hopefully will be ok to ride."

Alvaro Bautista set the pace during a damp Friday morning practice for the Dutch TT at Assen, in a session that saw a huge highside for Marc Marquez.

One day after reigning champion Jorge Lorenzo broke his collarbone, Marquez fortunately escaped serious injury after being flicked in dramatic style from his Repsol Honda.

The race winning rookie paid the price for being the first to try slick tyres on the drying track, losing the rear of his RCV just one corner after the scene of Lorenzo's accident.

Marquez was thrown high into the air and clipped by the bike before rolling roughly through the gravel. The 20-year-old, fifth on the timesheets, headed for the medical centre after the session to have an X-ray on the little finger of his right hand.

Gresini Honda's Bautista and Aspar CRT rider Randy de Puniet remained upright on their slicks to fill the top two places in the session. Third went to Michele Pirro (Pramac Ducati) who was the quickest of the wet tyre riders, +5.5s from Bautista.

Due to the conditions Lorenzo, who underwent surgery overnight, remained on top of the combined free practice timesheets despite his absence. Rumours that Lorenzo may try and return to Assen and ride in Saturday's race are played down but not entirely ruled out by the Yamaha team.

The damp circuit denied the likes of factory Ducati riders Andrea Dovizioso (11th) and Nicky Hayden (12th) the chance to break into the combined free practice top ten, needed for direct entry to Qualifying 2, and the pair will therefore ride in this afternoon's Qualifying 1 session.

Free practice (3):
1. Alvaro Bautista
2. Randy De Puniet
3. Michele Pirro
4. Ivan Silva
5. Marc Marquez
6. Cal Crutchlow
7. Andrea Dovizioso
8. Nicky Hayden
9. Dani Pedrosa
10. Karel Abraham
11. Yonny Hernandez
12. Valentino Rossi
13. Andrea Iannone
14. Claudio Corti
15. Bradley Smith
16. Aleix Espargaro
17. Danilo Petrucci
18. Michael Laverty
19. Hector Barbera
20. Bryan Staring
21. Lukas Pesek
22. Stefan Bradl
23. Colin Edwards

Cheaper than you think? CLICK HERE to see ticket prices for the remaining rounds of the 2013 MotoGP World Championship from the Official MotoGP Ticket Store.