Race results from the Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island, round 15 of the 2009 MotoGP World Championship.

Casey Stoner wins home race for third year in a row; Jorge Lorenzo hits back of Nicky Hayden and crashes out at turn one; Rossi builds title lead to 38 points over Lorenzo; James Toseland given jump start penalty; Loris Capirossi starts from back of grid after engine change.

Niccolo Canepa, who injured his arm in Friday practice, missed the race and could also be ruled out of next weekend's Malaysian Grand Prix.

Do not copy-and-paste onto other websites

1. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team 40min 56.651 sec
2. Valentino Rossi ITA Fiat Yamaha Team 40min 58.586 sec
3. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team 41min 19.269 sec
4. Alex de Angelis RSM San Carlo Honda Gresini 41min 29.353 sec
5. Colin Edwards USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 41min 32.536 sec
6. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda Team 41min 35.133 sec
7. Marco Melandri ITA Hayate Racing Team 41min 41.112 sec
8. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP 41min 41.592 sec
9. Mika Kallio FIN Pramac Racing 41min 50.996 sec
10. Toni Elias SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini 41min 57.856 sec
11. Chris Vermeulen AUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 42min 2.068 sec
12. Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 42min 2.601 sec
13. Gabor Talmacsi HUN Scot Racing Team MotoGP 42min 14.602 sec
14. James Toseland GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 42min 14.636 sec
15. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro Team 41min 27.127 sec

Jorge Lorenzo SPA Fiat Yamaha Team Turn 1


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment