Race results from the Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang, round 16 of the 2009 MotoGP World Championship.

Valentino Rossi wins his seventh MotoGP title with one round still to go.

The race was delayed due to a rain storm and wet throughout.

Jorge Lorenzo began the race from the back of the grid.

Niccolo Canepa, who injured his arm in Friday practice at Phillip Island last weekend, was replaced by Aleix Espargaro.

Do not copy-and-paste onto other websites

1. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team 47min 24.834 sec
2. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team 47min 39.500 sec
3. Valentino Rossi ITA Fiat Yamaha Team. 47min 44.219 sec
4. Jorge Lorenzo SPA Fiat Yamaha Team 47min 50.684 sec
5. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro Team 48min 3.589 sec
6. Chris Vermeulen AUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 48min 5.895 sec
7. Toni Elias SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini 48min 13.389 sec
8. Marco Melandri ITA Hayate Racing Team 48min 20.391 sec
9. Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 48min 25.137 sec
10. Mika Kallio FIN Pramac Racing 48min 25.274 sec
11. Aleix Espargaro SPA Pramac Racing 48min 26.489 sec
12. Alex de Angelis RSM San Carlo Honda Gresini 48min 26.681 sec
13. Colin Edwards USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 48min 35.612 sec
14. Gabor Talmacsi HUN Scot Racing Team MotoGP 48min 40.685 sec
15. James Toseland GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 49min 15.506 sec

Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP
Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda Team