The session was damp. Josh Hayes used slick tyres to set the best time on his tenth and final lap.

The tribute to Marco Simoncelli will now take place (starts 10.10) and is to be broadcast free on

Colin Edwards, injured in Marco Simoncelli's fatal accident at Sepang, has been replaced by reigning AMA Superbike champion Hayes. Injured 2010 world champion Jorge Lorenzo is again being replaced by Yamaha test rider Katsuyuki Nakasuga. Loris Capirossi is riding with Simoncelli's #58.

1. Josh Hayes USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1m 40.469s
2. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN San Carlo Honda Gresini 1m 42.096s
3. Casey Stoner AUS Repsol Honda 1m 43.770s
4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda 1m 44.829s
5. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro 1m 45.121s
6. Loris Capirossi ITA Pramac Racing 1m 45.496s
7. Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory Racing 1m 45.559s
8. Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Marlboro 1m 45.681s
9. Randy de Puniet FRA Pramac Racing 1m 45.752s
10. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1m 45.795s
11. Alvaro Bautista ESP Rizla Suzuki 1m 45.928s
12. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing 1m 46.158s
13. Toni Elias ESP LCR Honda 1m 46.284s
14. Hector Barbera ESP Mapfre Aspar 1m 47.747s
15. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda 1m 47.757s
16. Katsuyuki Nakasuga JPN Yamaha Factory Racing 1m 48.025s

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

Do not copy and paste onto other websites.

Pole position: Casey Stoner AUS Repsol Honda 1m 31.861s

2011 Valencia Grand Prix (November 7): Pole position: Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Team 1m 31.799s Fastest race lap: Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda 1m 32.914s