Qatar is the first event of the new 1000cc MotoGP era and first to feature the new privateer 'Claiming Rule Team' (CRT) class.

The Losail round has a unique four-night format - practice began on Thursday, continued on Friday, with qualifying on Saturday, then warm-up and the race on Sunday.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 54.634s
2. Casey Stoner AUS Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 54.855s
3. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 55.022s
4. Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 55.512s
5. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP12) 1m 55.637s
6. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 55.858s
7. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 55.905s
8. Hector Barbera ESP Pramac Racing (GP12) 1m 55.983s
9. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 1m 56.063s
10. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (GP12) 1m 56.198s
11. Alvaro Bautista ESP San Carlo Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 56.521s
12. Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Team (GP12) 1m 56.813s
13. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Suter-BMW CRT) 1m 57.644s
14. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 58.266s
15. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 58.520s
16. Yonny Hernandez COL Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 1m 58.795s
17. Michele Pirro ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 1m 59.085s
18. Mattia Pasini ITA Speed Master (ART CRT) 1m 59.195s
19. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing (Ioda-Aprilia CRT) 1m 59.664s
20. Ivan Silva ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 2m 0.493s
21. James Ellison GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 2m 0.757s

Fastest practice time: Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha 1m 55.302s (FP3)

Official Qatar MotoGP records: Best lap: Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha 1m 53.927s (2008) Fastest race lap: Casey Stoner AUS Ducati 1m 55.153s (2008)