Cal Crutchlow missed qualifying due to his heavy morning fall and is yet to confirm his participation in the race. Crutchlow can start last on the grid in Sunday's race, if fit, having lapped within 107% of pole in practice.

Stefan Bradl was back on track in qualifying after suffering a hand injury this morning.

Ducati team-mates Valentino Rossi and Nicky Hayden were unhurt in near identical qualifying falls under braking for the final turn.

Cardion AB Ducati's Karel Abraham is absent due to finger fractures in his left hand sustained during testing at Aragon.

Silverstone is the first event where the new specification front slick tyre becomes standard.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Alvaro Bautista ESP San Carlo Honda Gresini (RC213V) 2m 3.303s
2. Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 2m 3.409s
3. Casey Stoner AUS Repsol Honda (RC213V) 2m 3.423s
4. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 2m 3.763s
5. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 2m 3.835s
6. Hector Barbera ESP Pramac Racing (GP12) 2m 3.876s
7. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP12) 2m 4.162s
8. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 2m 4.304s
9. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 2m 5.035s
10. Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Team (GP12) 2m 5.416s
11. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 2m 6.283s
12. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 2m 6.303s
13. Yonny Hernandez COL Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 2m 6.814s
14. Michele Pirro ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 2m 7.016s
15. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Suter-BMW CRT) 2m 7.376s
16. Mattia Pasini ITA Speed Master (ART CRT) 2m 7.511s
17. James Ellison GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 2m 8.228s
18. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing (Ioda-Aprilia CRT) 2m 8.686s
19. Ivan Silva ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 2m 10.092s

Fastest practice time: Casey Stoner AUS Honda 2m 3.941s (FP3)

Official Silverstone MotoGP records: Best lap: Casey Stoner AUS Honda 2m 2.020s (2011) Fastest race lap: Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha 2m 3.526s (2010)