Reigning MotoGP champion Casey Stoner was absent after returning to Australia for surgery on the ankle injuries sustained last weekend at Indianapolis.

Nicky Hayden also missed the event, due to his big Indy qualifying fall, while the re-injured Hector Barbera was again been replaced by Toni Elias.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

Related Articles

1. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 42m 51.570s
2. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 42m 51.748s
3. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 43m 3.913s
4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 43m 10.161s
5. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 43m 17.152s
6. Alvaro Bautista ESP San Carlo Honda Gresini (RC213V) 43m 21.021s
7. Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Team (GP12) 43m 26.084s
8. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 43m 55.855s
9. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (GP12) 43m 59.848s
10. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 44m 1.542s
11. Toni Elias ESP Pramac Racing (GP12) 44m 1.573s
12. Yonny Hernandez COL Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 44m 15.610s
13. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Suter-BMW CRT) 44m 19.468s
14. Michele Pirro ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 44m 27.735s
15. James Ellison GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 44m 32.135s
16. Mattia Pasini ITA Speed Master (ART CRT) 44m 32.796s
17. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing (Ioda-Aprilia CRT) 42m 59.186s DNF: Ivan Silva ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)
Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1)