Casey Stoner claims his sixth successive home win while Jorge Lorenzo is crowned world champion after Dani Pedrosa crashed out of the lead on lap 2.

Yamaha's Ben Spies is absent for the remainder of the season after undergoing surgery to repair shoulder injuries at the Malaysian Grand Prix.

Local rider Kris McLaren, drafted into the Avintia Blusens squad in place of the injured Yonny Hernandez, did not start the race after missing the 107% time in practice and qualifying.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Casey Stoner AUS Repsol Honda (RC213V) 41m 1.324s
2. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 41m 10.547s
3. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 41m 15.894s
4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 41m 24.627s
5. Alvaro Bautista ESP San Carlo Honda Gresini (RC213V) 41m 24.756s
6. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 41m 24.791s
7. Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Team (GP12) 41m 38.437s
8. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP12) 41m 39.711s
9. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (GP12) 41m 53.937s
10. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 42m 1.623s
11. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 42m 1.666s
12. Hector Barbera ESP Pramac Racing (GP12) 42m 23.275s
13. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing (Suter-BMW CRT) 42m 29.181s
14. Michele Pirro ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) +1 lap
15. Ivan Silva ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) +1 lap

DNF: Roberto Rolfo ITA Speed Master (ART CRT) Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Suter-BMW CRT) James Ellison GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V)