Jorge Lorenzo struck a seagull on his first run - taking the deceased bird to provisional pole, before having it removed from the radiator of his YZR-M1 in the pits!

Marc Marquez then moved ahead, before Lorenzo fought back with the first ever sub-1m 28s lap.

Phillip Island has been resurfaced since last year's event - after Friday practice, Bridgestone specified that all riders must use the harder rear for the race due to increased tyre wear.

However the short qualifying shootout meant that the softer rear was used without issue.

Honda LCR's Stefan Bradl has withdrawn after testing his newly fractured ankle in Friday morning practice.

Yonny Hernandez continues to replace Ben Spies at Pramac Ducati, with Damian Cudlin taking over from Hernandez at PBM and World Supersport-ace Scassa replacing the injured Karel Abraham at Cardion AB.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 27.899s (Lap 6/7)
2. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 28.120s (6/8)
3. Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 28.647s (7/9)
4. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 28.713s (7/9)
5. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 28.748s (9/9)
6. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 28.809s (8/9)
7. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 28.941s (7/9)
8. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 29.295s (7/8)
9. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 29.660s (8/9)
10. Andrea Iannone ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 29.756s (8/9)
11. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 30.264s (2/2)
12. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 30.735s (6/7)

13. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 30.081s (2/7)
14. Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 30.530s (2/7)
15. Yonny Hernandez COL Ignite Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 30.641s (7/9)
16. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 30.733s (3/8)
17. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 30.894s (7/8)
18. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 1m 30.979s (4/9)
19. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 31.061s (3/8)
20. Luca Scassa ITA Cardion AB Motoracing (ART CRT) 1m 31.093s (7/9)
21. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 1m 31.775s (3/8)
22. Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 32.474s (8/8)
23. Damian Cudlin AUS Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART CRT)* 1m 33.007s (3/8)
* Standard ECU.

Fastest practice time: Dani Pedrosa ESP Honda 1m 28.959s (FP3)

Official Australian MotoGP records: Best lap: Casey Stoner AUS Ducati 1m 28.665s (2008) Fastest race lap: Nicky Hayden USA Honda1m 30.059s (2008)

Be there! CLICK HERE to see ticket prices for the remaining rounds of the 2013 MotoGP World Championship from the Official MotoGP Ticket Store.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment