Ryan Newman shattered the track record at Lowe's Motor Speedway on Thursday night to win pole position for the UAW-GM Quality 500, his ALLTEL Dodge putting in a lap at 188.877mph. Now he needs to win Saturday night's race to revive his challenge for the Nextel Cup. He currently lies eighth of the 10 contenders, 232 points behind leader Kurt Busch.

Kasey Kahne kept up his rookie sensation tag to qualify second in his UAW/Dodge Dealers Dodge and Dodges rule the roost, Casey Mears in the Target car third.

The three drivers at the top of the points chase all had poor qualifying sessions. Kurt Busch qualified 21st, third-placed Jeff Gordon 23rd and second-placed Dale Earnhardt Jr 25th. Busch currently holds a 29-point lead over Earnhardt with Gordon 79 points further back.

Qualifying times, UAW/GM Quality 500, Lowe's Motor Speedway, Charlotte, North Carolina, 2004 NASCAR Nextel Cup round 31 of 36.

1. Ryan Newman #12 ALLTEL Dodge Penske Racing 188.877mph
2. Kasey Kahne *#9 Dodge Dealers Mopar/UAW DodgeEvernham Motorsports 187.311mph
3. Casey Mears #41 Target/SpongeBob Squarepants DodgeChip Ganassi Racing 187.279mph
4. Scott Riggs * #10 Valvoline Chevrolet MBV Motorsports 186.483mph
5. Elliott Sadler #38 Combos Ford Robert Yates Racing 186.233mph
6. Michael Waltrip #15 NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet Dale Earnhardt Incorporated 186.226mph
7. Kevin Harvick #29 GM Goodwrench Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing 186.143mph
8. Joe Nemechek #01 US Army/GI Joe Chevrolet MB2 Motorsports 186.066mph
9. Jimmie Johnson #48 Lowe's/HMS 20th Anniversary Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports 184.697mph
10. Carl Edwards #99 Canteen Vending/Kraft Foods Ford Roush Racing 185.976mph
11. Bobby Hamilton Jr #32 Tide ChevroletPPI Motorsports 185.957mph
12. Mark Martin # 6 Viagra Ford Roush Racing 185.319mph
13. Jeremy Mayfield #19 Dodge Dealers/UAW DodgeEvernham Motorsports 185.274mph
14. Rusty Wallace #2 Miller Lite Dodge Penske Racing 185.223mph
15. Tony Stewart #20 Home Depot Chevrolet Joe Gibbs Racing 185.122mph
16. Brendan Gaughan * #77 Jasper Engines DodgePenske/Jasper Racing 184.982mph
17. Brian Vickers * #25 GMAC/HMS 20th Anniversary Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports 184.849mph
18. Greg Biffle #16 National Guard FordRoush Racing 184.837mph
19. Robby Gordon #31 Cingular Wireless Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing 184.672mph
20. John Andretti #14 VB/APlus at Sunoco Ford 184.615mph
21. Kurt Busch #97 IRWIN/Sharpie FordRoush Racing 184.527mph
22. Jimmy Spencer #4 Lucas Oil Products Chevrolet Morgan-McClure Racing 184.502mph
23. Jeff Gordon #24 Dupont/HMS 20th Anniversary Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports 184.370mph
24. Jamie McMurray #42 Texaco Havoline Dodge Chip Ganassi Racing 184.300mph
25. Dale Earnhardt Jr. #8 Budweiser Chevrolet Dale Earnhardt Incorporated 184.055mph
26. Jeff Fuller #50 Arnold Development Companies Dodge Arnold Racing 183.480mph
27. Kevin Lepage #137 Carter'sRoyal Dispos-All Dodge John Carter 183.349mph
28. Tony Raines #251 Marathon/Chase Chevrolet 183.312mph
29. Johnny Sauter #09 Miccosukee Gaming & Resorts Dodge Phoenix Racing 183.237mph
30. Ken Schrader #49 Schwan's Home Service Dodge BAM Racing 183.225mph
31. Sterling Marlin #40 Coors Light/Prilosec Dodge Chip Ganassi Racing 183.163mph
32. Kyle Petty #45 Georgia Pacific/Brawny DodgePetty Enterprises 183.070mph
33. Jeff Green #43 Cheerios/Betty Crocker Dodge Petty Enterprises 183.051mph
34. Bobby Labonte #18 Interstate Batteries Chevrolet Joe Gibbs Racing 183.014mph
35. Jeff Burton # 30 America Online Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing 182.958mph
36. Matt Kenseth #17 DeWalt Ford Roush Racing 182.408mph
37. Greg Sacks #113 ARC Dehooker/Vita Coco Dodge 182.260mph
38. Kyle Busch #84 CARQUEST/HMS 20th Anniversary ChevroletHendrick Motorsports 182.254mph
39. Dale Jarrett #88 UPS Ford Robert Yates Racing 181.433mph (provisional)
40. Terry Labonte #5 Kellogg's ChevroletHendrick Motorsports 181.794mph (provisional)
41. Ricky Rudd #21 Motorcraft FordWood Brothers Racing 181.476mph (provisional)
42. Scott Wimmer * #22 Caterpillar Dodge Bill Davis Racing 180.935mph (provisional)
43. Ward Burton # 0 Netzero HiSpeed ChevroletHaas CNC Racing 182.242mph (provisional)
Did not qualify
44. Kenny Wallace #100 Aaron's ChevroletMike Waltrip Racing 181.622mph
45. Derrike Cope #194 AmericInn/Racer's Edge Ford 181.165mph
46. Mike Wallace #135 Gary Keller Racing Chevrolet Gary Keller Racing 180.796mph
47. Carl Long #200 Buyers Choice Auto Warranties Chevrolet 180.693mph
48. Kirk Shelmerdine #172 Tucson Ford Kirk Shelmerdine 178.630mph
49. Larry Foyt #159 BAM Racing Dodge BAM Racing 177.737mph
50. Hermie Sadler #02 SCORE Motorsports ChevroletSCORE Motorsports 177.148mph
51. Morgan Shepherd #89 Racing with Jesus/Red Line Oil Dodge Cindy Shepherd 177.061mph
52. Geoffrey Bodine #198 Mach One Inc Ford William Edwards 153 laps - 176.384mph

* Rookie of the Year contender.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment