Establishing itself as the most popular (in terms of number of entrants) arm of the Stingray RV sponsored Super One Series, the Rotax classes pitched up at the plush Paul Fletcher International circuit in Lincolnshire for the opening round of the 2010 season in rude health.

Stingray's new title sponsorship of the championship coupled with an enhanced television package from PSC Productions meant that three of the four Rotax classes were swamped with entrants, who obviously weren't put off by the somewhat higher than usual annual increase in entry fees that come hand in hand when any championship bites the bullet and begins dealing with a television media platform.

With strong driver line-ups in each class fighting for the ABkC titles and the support of the vast majority of the leading teams in the country, predictions that the racing would be fierce were soon proved to be spot on with the series officials realising quickly that the decision to bring in onboard cameras for each kart to assist with judicial procedures would be tested regularly as the year progressed.

48 Mini Max entries turned out to watch reigning MSA British Cadet Champion George Russell claim his first major victory since graduating into the smallest of the Rotax divisions. Running with Strawberry Racing Russell bounced back from missing timed qualifying altogether to win both finals, the second by a whopping seven seconds.

Sam Ward and Harry Webb completed the race one podium with poleman and qualifying pacesetter Oliver Myers fifth. Myers improved his position to third in the second final, behind a sensational Russell and Adam Glear with Harri Taylor and Ryan Norris completing the top five.

The Junior Rotax class was even more heavily subscribed with 54 entries although none could stop last year's vice champion Matt Parry from winning both finals against one of the strongest field's in recent seasons.

Josh Parker was second in both races and ran Parry close in the second final while Andy King and Jack Marshall took a third place each.

Senior Rotax couldn't quite match their Junior counterparts in terms of number of entries but a field of 49 was still mightily impressive with one of the only things bigger than the grid was the damage bill for some drivers by the end of a physical weekend.

Last year's Junior Rotax champion Ed Brand and his Birel teammate and defending champion Michael Simpson shared the final victories with Simpson putting in a virtuoso performance to win final two after driving from 20th on the grid to second in the opening final.

Brand was also impressive, keeping a cool head on his Senior S1 debut as many more experienced drivers around him lost theirs. After winning the first final by half a second over a charging Simpson he realised that he didn't have the pace of his more illustrious teammate in the second final and, rather than risk an all or nothing move against one of the most experienced hands in British karting he chose to sit on Simpson's rear bumper and collect the points for second.

Dan Holland claimed a pair of third place finishes in the finals while Tom Fawcett might have played a larger role after finishing fourth in final one only to become one of a number of drivers to get shovelled aside on the opening lap of the second final.

The only class not to attract large numbers was Senior Rotax 177, which started the season with a grid of 15 and a double win for Lucas Orrock. Stephen Cobb chased him hard in both races and even led the first final as Orrock made his way up from fifth on the grid but in the second Orrock was able to lead from start to finish.

David Griffiths took third in final one from Tom Pyttlik while Luke Woodland completed the second podium, again with Pyttlik in fourth.