David Griffiths took advantage of a rare below par weekend for championship leader Lucas Orrock to trim Orrock's points advantage to just nine points following the fourth round of the 2010 season at Buckmore Park.

The Rotax 177 field was shaken up by the arrival of Buckmore expert Florent Lambert on one of the hottest weekend's of the year and Lambert wasted little time in stirring the pot by setting the fastest time in qualifying, just one hundredth faster than Griffiths as Orrock toiled back in fifth place in the 16 strong field.

Lambert then took the opening heat from Colin Davis, leading every one of the 16 laps and holding off a determined charge from both Davis and Griffiths in the closing laps. Orrock took fourth but was nearly two seconds down on the front three with another karting returnee in the form of Justin Edgar rounding out the top five.

Griffiths gained a measure of revenge in the second heat, beating Lambert to the line by just over a second after taking the lead on the opening lap. Davis took third on this occasion with Orrock once again in fourth.

Amazingly, in the first appearance of the season, Lambert won the first 24-lap final to become only the third different winner of the season after Orrock and Griffiths. Throughout the race Lambert was kept on his toes by Davis and Griffiths with Griffiths eventually taking second after an extended battle with Davis. Some five seconds behind the winner Edgar continued to knock the ring rust off after his extended karting sabbatical and took fourth with Orrock only seventh, easily his worst result of the year to date.

Lambert led the opening laps of the second final as he looked to make it a remarkable weekend double but Griffiths overhauled him on lap three and led the rest of the way to take his second win of the season. Davis also forged his way past Lambert and gave chase to Griffiths but couldn't catch him and settled for second, just a handful of kart lengths ahead of Lambert. Edgar took a lonely fourth with Luke Woodland fifth and Orrock sixth.

In the points table, Griffiths' consistency throughout the year means he is just nine points behind Orrock even though Orrock has won five of the eight finals held so far this year. The rest, led by Woodland, are more than 30 points behind and need both series frontrunners to slip up badly over the remaining three rounds to stand a chance of taking the title.