Honda TT Legends rider John McGuinness was quickest in the Superbike class during final qualifying held in wet conditions at the Relentless International North West 200.

However, the Morecambe rider will start from second place on the grid in Saturday's two premier class races with Tuesday's times - set in the dry - determining the final grid positions.

McGuinness lapped at 110mph on his CBR1000RR Fireblade to post the fastest lap from Kiwi Bruce Anstey on Clive Padgett's Honda, but it is Tyco Suzuki British Superbike rider who will start from pole following his 120mph lap on Tuesday.

Related Articles

The front row of the Superbike grid on Saturday will be completed by William Dunlop on Wilson Craig's Honda.

Guy Martin, 208mph man Martin Jessopp and Ian Hutchinson complete the front row.

William Dunlop led the way on Craig's Honda in the Supersport class from brother Michael on the McAdoo GSX-R600, completing a lap of the 8.9-mile circuit at 108.17mph.

However, once again it will be reigning champion Alastair Seeley who sets off from pole on Saturday following his lap of 113.24mph in the dry on Tuesday.

His Tyco Suzuki team-mate Martin and Padgett's Honda man McGuiness fill out the front row, followed by the consistent William Dunlop, Gary Johnson and Michael Dunlop.

MSS Bathams Kawasaki ace Michael Rutter lived up to his wet weather specialist tag as he set the fastest lap in the tricky conditions on his ZX-10R in the Superstock session with a lap of 109mph from Anstey at 108.76mph.

Rutter, though, could find himself languishing down in 27th position on the grid after failing to register a dry qualifying time on Tuesday.

Ryan Farquhar holds onto his pole position start in the Superstock class following his lap at 117.55mph on Tuesday, followed by Seeley, McGuinness, William Dunlop, Stephen Thompson and Anstey.

Five races are scheduled for the main event on Saturday, including two Superbike and Supersport races and the Superstock event.