The FIA has named the eighteen young drivers that have been nominated by their national sporting authorities to contest the 'European Pirelli Star Driver Shoot-Out' next month.

The two winners will receive a fully-paid drive on six rounds of the 2009 World Rally Championship in a Group N or Super 2000 car supplied and serviced under an FIA contract with a specialist preparation company.

In addition to a driver being nominated by each European country organising either an FIA World Rally Championship or FIA European Rally Championship event, two drivers have also been selected by the Nacam Zone (Central America) and Codasur Zone (South America).

The drivers nominated by their ASNs to compete in the 2008 European Shoot Out from October 23-25 are:

Austria Andreas Aigner
Belgium Thierry Neuville
Bulgaria Todor Slavov
Codasur region Victor Galeano (South America)
Czech Republic Martin Prokop
Finland Jarkko Nikara
France Guillaume Canivenq
Germany Hermann Gassner
Ireland Keith Cronin
Italy Simone Campedelli
Nacam region Benito Guerra Jr. (Central America)
Norway Sveinung Bielvedt
Poland Michal Kooeciuszko
Portugal Antonio Rodrigues
Spain Yeray Lemes
Sweden Patrik Sandell
Turkey Emre Yurdakul
United Kingdom Adam Gould

The Pirelli Star Driver Shoot Out will be run over two special stages, each run three times, one being 75 per cent gravel and 25 per cent asphalt (9.59 km) and the other being 100 per cent asphalt (11.2 km).

The two winners will be chosen based on their overall performance, irrespective of car and timed results, and part of the selection process will also be an interview held with each driver, in English, to assess their ability to communicate with the media.

The panel of judges will consist of former famous rally drivers and representatives of Pirelli.

In total five drivers will compete at the pinnacle of the sport under the Pirelli scheme in 2009, with the others coming from the Middle East, Asia-Pacific and African regions - although Jon Williams has already been selected from the FIA African Rally Championship.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment