It's remarkable to think that after eight months, 28 races and thousands of racing miles, the 2012 World Superbike Championship would come down to a mere 0.5 points.

Indeed, WSBK 2012 will be remembered as one of the most open and keenly contested seasons on record, Max Biaggi doing just enough to keep Tom Sykes and Marco Melandri at bay in what became a thrilling - and unexpected - end to the season.

Of course, it was Biaggi's name that would be etched into the WSBK winners' trophy for the second time in his career, but in a year that saw nine different riders notch up victories in 2012 - the most since 2001 -, is keen to know who you think deserves special recognition in our annual WSBK Rider of the Year vote.

After all, while Biaggi, Sykes and Melandri stole the lion's share of the headlines in 2012, the likes of Loris Baz, Sylvain Guintoli, Eugene Laverty, Chaz Davies and Leon Camier also won the praise of readers this season for their efforts, be it because of their experience or because of their achievements on lesser fancied machinery.

Which is why we aren't just asking you to pick your top rider for 2012, but instead to rate each of the 20 full-time competitors, so we can rank them according to your ratings.

Simply rate each one out of ten and we'll provide your definitive countdown in the coming weeks based on the your scores...

To submit your ratings, all you have to do is CLICK HERE.