Chambon wins controversial Oschersleben WSS race.

Suzuki Alstare Corona Extra rider Stephane Chambon has won the World Supersport race at Oschersleben, after the original race winner, Karl Muggeridge was excluded.

Muggeridge was not the only Honda rider to lose his result, and in total six others were disqualified, including Broc Parkes and Sebastien Charpentier, who had finished second and third.

That meant Chambon's team-mate, Katsuaki Fujiwara took second, with championship leader Jurgen van den Goorbergh third.

The championship table now reads, van den Goorbergh 89 points, from Muggeridge 62, from Fujiwara 54.

Of the rest Christian Kellner was fourth, with Lorenzo Lanzi fifth, while Barry Veneman, Kai Boore Andersen, and Werner Daemen completed the top eight.

In total eleven riders retired, with Max Neukirchner, Alessio Corradi and Denis Sacchetti, fifth, 9th and 13th in the original classification, the other Honda runners to be excluded.

The result meanwhile remains provisional, pending an appeal by Honda.

Results [revised]:

1. Stephane Chambon
2. Katsuaki Fujiwara
3. Jurgen van den Goorbergh
4. Christian Kellner
5. Lorenzo Lanzi
6. Barry Veneman

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
VD Goorbergh,Chambon,Foret, WSS Race, Oschersleben, 2004
Muggeridge Leads, WSS Race, Oschersleben, 2004
Chambon, WSS Misano, 16-18/4/04
Max Biaggi (ITA), Aprilia, World Superbike [Credit: Aprilia]
Riders and teams on world environment day, Portuguese WSBK 2015
Riders and teams on world environment day, Portuguese WSBK 2015
Tom Sykes (GBR), World Superbike [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli (FRA), World Superbike, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Randy de Puniet (FRA), World Superbike [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Nicol Terol (ESP), World Superbike [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Nicol Terol (ESP), World Superbike [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Niccolo Canepa (ITA), World Superbike, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael van der Mark (NED), World Superbike [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam (GBR), World Superbike, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Camier (GBR), World Superbike, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jordi Torres (ESP), World Superbike [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jonathan Rea (GBR), World Superbike, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Davide Giugliano (GBR), World Superbike [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.