The first start was abandoned when Karel Abraham stalled on the grid.

Pole sitter Dani Pedrosa suffered technical problems on the grid before the restart and was forced to line-up in last place.

Pedrosa was then taken out by Hector Barbera on the opening lap of the race.

Injured reigning MotoGP champion Casey Stoner was replaced by World Superbike star Jonathan Rea, making his grand prix debut.

Nicky Hayden and Hector Barbera were returning from injury, while David Salom has replaced Ivan Silva for the rest of the season at Avintia.

The Ioda team switched to a BMW-Suter machine from this weekend.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 42m 49.836s
2. Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Team (GP12) 42m 54.234s
3. Alvaro Bautista ESP San Carlo Honda Gresini (RC213V) 42m 55.891s
4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 42m 55.894s
5. Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 42m 57.379s
6. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 43m 3.108s
7. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP12) 43m 30.743s
8. Jonathan Rea GBR Repsol Honda (RC213V) 43m 32.998s
9. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 43m 59.463s
10. Michele Pirro ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 44m 3.441s
11. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Suter-BMW CRT) 44m 6.531s
12. Yonny Hernandez COL Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 44m 8.909s
13. James Ellison GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 44m 9.244s
14. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing (Suter-BMW CRT) +1 lap
15. David Salom ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) +1 lap

DNF: Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)
1 Mattia Pasini ITA Speed Master (ART CRT) Hector Barbera ESP Pramac Racing (GP12) m 0.000s Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) m 0.000s Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing