Josh Brookes has won the British Superbike Championship for the second time in his career after producing a formidable performance in the final race of the 2020 BSB season to resist the attentions of title rival Jason O’Halloran to the flag.

The Australian - a title winner with Milwaukee Yamaha in 2015 - came into the season finale, the last of three triple-header rounds rescheduled in the wake of the coronavirus crisis with the advantage in the points over four other rivals that could still mathematically win.

Though O’Halloran’s win on Saturday reduced that margin to seven points coming into today’s two crucial deciders, Brookes led every single lap on both occasions for a richly deserved title aboard the Paul Bird Motorsport-run VisionTrack Ducati.

Going some way to making up for last year’s agonising title loss to Scott Redding - who in turn got a taste of what that felt like by losing out to Jonathan Rea in WorldSBK - Brookes may have not always been the fastest rider in an unusual 2020 BSB season that threw up numerous winners and no clear formbook - a symptom of the compacted sprint season - but he was quickest when it mattered.

Indeed, his two definitive wins on the Ducati Panigale V4 R today showcased a deserving champion, not least in race three as he repelled the persistent attentions of both McAMS Yamahas, first O’Halloran, then Tarran Mackenzie, knowing dropping behind both could have ruined his chances.

In the end Brookes completes the season with five wins from 18 races, more than anyone else this year.

Mackenzie and O’Halloran completed the podium in race three, the latter scoring his best overall finish in BSB by taking the runners-up spot. Christian Iddon, the third rider with a mathematical title chance coming into the final race, was fourth to round off an eye-catching first year with PBM Ducati.

While Honda’s challenge fell flat after its stunning start at Donington Park, Andrew Irwin picked up another top five, ahead of Danny Buchan, Tommy Bridewell, Peter Hickman, Lee Jackson and Gino Rea.

Beyond Brookes, O’Halloran and Iddon in the top three, Glenn Irwin was fourth overall with Mackenzie ending the year in fifth.

In all, there were eight different race winners, including the top five above plus Andrew Irwin (Honda), Tommy Bridewell (Ducati) and Kyle Ryde (Suzuki)



Loading Comments...