F1 team boss Ross Brawn was the Guest of Honour at the Motor Sports Associations prestigious awards ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club in London at the end of last month.

During the evening, Brawn was presented with the Sir Malcolm Campbell Memorial Trophy in honour of the Brawn GP teams achievements in the 2009 F1 World Championship, during which Jenson Button claimed the Drivers world championship and the team took the Constructors crown.

Button himself would also have been present to receive the Hawthorn Memorial trophy, which is awarded annually to the most successful British or Commonwealth driver in the FIA Formula One World Championship. Unfortunately though, pre-season commitments prevented him attending but he was able to send a video message of thanks to the assembled guests.

"It is with great pride that I accept this award on behalf of the whole team," Brawn said. "Everyone worked extremely hard just to get us onto the grid in Australia and then during the season to keep us ahead of the chasing pack. This award is due recognition for all the efforts of an amazing team of people and I am delighted to receive it on their behalf."

From 1950 to 1980, the Sir Malcolm Campbell Memorial Trophy was awarded for outstanding performances by British competitors driving British cars in any form of motoring competition. Famous names to appear on the roll of honour include Sir Stirling Moss, Jack Brabham, Mike Hawthorn, Jim Clark, Graham Hill and James Hunt.

Following a break in its presentation, the trophy was awarded in 1997 to the then-Squadron Leader Andy Green for driving Thrust SSC to the land speed world record of 763mph.

The Sir Malcolm Campbell Memorial Trophy will now be awarded annually by the Motor Sports Association to an individual or group for excellence within motor sport.