Giancarlo Fisichella appeared to have given Eddie Jordan the perfect present to celebrate his 200th grand prix by taking an unexpected victory in a crazy and accident-ridden Brazilian Grand Prix - only for the stewards to award the victory to Kimi Raikkonen.

The race, delayed twice in an attempt to allow rain clouds and standing water to disperse, eventually got underway behind the safety car and continued in single file until the end of the eighth lap.

From then on, it was nothing short of incident-filled, with polewinner Rubens Barrichello ceding the lead on the 'restart' to David Coulthard, and the Scot then losing out to team-mate Kimi Raikkonen in the first of the Finn's fantastic overtaking moves of the afternoon. DC then returned to the lead when Raikkonen pitted under the re-appearance of the safety car for a series of accidents at turn three, including one for world champion Michael Schumacher.

Coulthard continued to lead until Barrichello, now flying again, passed him shortly after half distance, but regained the advantage when the luckless Brazilian again ground to a halt in front of his home fans. With his tyres going off, however, the Scot had no option but to pit under green flag conditions, losing the lead to team-mate Raikkonen.

The Finn, however, had Fisichella right with him and, briefly losing control on the still tricky surface, saw the Italian go through to lead for Jordan. Mark Webber then ended an otherwise impressive weekend by losing control entering the pit-straight, badly damaging his Jaguar against the wall on both sides of the track. When Fernando Alonso then came across the debris and followed suit in a bigger accident, the stewards had no option but to throw the red flags, stopping the race beyond its three-quarter distance.

Jordan was celebrating even as Fisichella's car burned in pit-lane but, as perhaps only fits a confused afternoon, the result remained in doubt while the correct countback procedure was uncovered. Smiles turned to frowns, however, as Raikkonen was then declared the official winner....

Leading finishers - Brazilian GP:

1. Kimi Raikkonen McLaren
2. Giancarlo Fisichella Jordan
3. Fernando Alonso Renault
4. David Coulthard McLaren
5. Heinz-Harald Frentzen Sauber
6. Jacques Villeneuve BAR
7. Mark Webber Jaguar
8. Jarno Trulli Renault
9. Ralf Schumacher Williams
10. Cristiano da Matta Toyota