F1 2021 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix - Free Practice Results (1)

Results from the first practice session at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Round 22 of the 2021 Formula 1 world championship.
Fernando Alonso (ESP) Alpine F1 Team A521.
Fernando Alonso (ESP) Alpine F1 Team A521.
© xpbimages.com
2021 F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix - FREE PRACTICE RESULTS (1)
1Max VerstappenNEDRed Bull Racing1m25.009s
2Valtteri BottasFINMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m25.205s
3Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m25.355s
4Sergio PerezMEXRed Bull Racing1m25.363s
5Yuki TsunodaJPNScuderia AlphaTauri Honda1m25.378s
6Fernando AlonsoESPAlpine F1 Team1m25.625s
7Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauri Honda1m25.822s
8Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow1m25.846s
9Carlos SainzESPScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow1m25.886s
10Sebastian VettelGERAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team1m26.007s
11Esteban OconFRAAlpine F1 Team1m26.025s
12Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team1m26.123s
13Kimi RaikkonenFINAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen1m26.189s
14Antonio GiovinazziITAAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen1m26.409s
15Lance StrollCANAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team1m26.608s
16Daniel RicciardoAUSMcLaren F1 Team1m26.678s
17Jack AitkenGBRWilliams Racing1m27.481s
18Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing1m27.487s
19Mick SchumacherGERUralkali Haas F1 Team1m27.698s
20Nikita MazepinRUSUralkali Haas F1 Team1m28.305s

The end is finally here as Formula 1’s spectacular 2021 season finally comes to an end this weekend at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi. 

F1 title contenders Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton are equal on points going into the finale where ultimately the race winner will be crowned champion. 

Mercedes looks set to win an astonishing eighth constructors’ championship in a row after Sergio Perez’s failure to finish at the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix.

Lap times are expected to be up to 14s quicker than last year due to several changes to the track layout in a bid to improve following and overtaking.

Outside of Mercedes and Red Bull, Ferrari has a substantial lead over McLaren in the race for third, while two strong races for Alpine has meant it has effectively secured fifth ahead of AlphaTauri.

Despite Alfa Romeo’s score with Antonio Giovinazzi in Jeddah, Williams is in the driving seat to finish eighth in the championship.

With the titles on the line, it’s set to be a dramatic weekend of action in Abu Dhabi.

Recent Abu Dhabi GP winners:

2020 - Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

2019 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2018 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2017 - Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)

2016 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2015 - Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

2014 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2013 - Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)

2012 - Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus)

2011 - Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)

2010 - Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)

Read More