Mitch Evans led Jaguar to its second Formula E pole position in qualifying for the Santiago E-Prix on Saturday at the Parque O'Higgins, edging out BMW's Maximilian Guenther in Super Pole.

Evans managed to top the initial qualifying heats before turning in a fastest lap time of 1m04.827s as the final runner in Super Pole, beating Guenther's time by two-tenths of a second.

It meant Evans picked up all four bonus points on offer in qualifying, and marked both his and Jaguar's first pole since their maiden success at Zurich in 2018.

Ex-Formula 1 driver Pascal Wehrlein qualified third for Mahindra, 0.818s off Evans's pole time, while Venturi's Felipe Massa set an identical lap time in fourth, dropping behind by virtue of setting his lap later in the session.

Oliver Turvey qualified an impressive fifth for Nio ahead of Nissan's Sebastien Buemi, who could only take sixth in Super Pole after finishing third in the initial qualifying heats.

Edoardo Mortara took seventh for Venturi ahead of the Mercedes duo of Nyck de Vries and Stoffel Vandoorne, while Antonio Felix da Costa completed the top 10 for DS Techeetah.

Reigning champion Jean-Eric Vergne's tricky start to the new season continued as he finished 11th ahead of Neel Jani, who scored his best Formula E qualifying result to date in P12 for Porsche. Teammate Andre Lotterer took 14th as Daniel Abt splits the Porsches for Audi.

Alexander Sims' streak of pole positions came to an end as he ailed to 15th for BMW ahead of Envision Virgin's Sam Bird, while Brendon Hartley took 17th for Dragon ahead of Jaguar's James Calado. Nico Mueller finished 19th in the second Dragon as Jerome d'Ambrosio rounded out the top 20.

Robin Frijns finished 21st following a dramatic spin on his qualifying lap, while Oliver Rowland was classified 22nd following a hefty crash in his Nissan. Lucas di Grassi and Ma Qinghua also hit trouble, leaving them on the final row of the grid.

The Santiago E-Prix gets underway at 7pm GMT on Saturday.



Loading Comments...