1983 Indianapolis 500 winner Tom Sneva was among the nine inductees into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America earlier this month.

Sneva, who serves as spotter and driver coach for Bombardier Rookie of the Year candidate Tomas Enge of Panther Racing, was enshrined along with NASCAR champion Benny Parsons, road racer Hurley Haywood, drag racer Tommy Ivo, motorcyclist Jay Springsteen, powerboat racer Danny Foster, car owners/builders John Holman and Ralph Moody and 1952 Indianapolis 500 winner Troy Ruttman.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway and IRL CEO Tony George presented the award to Sneva.

Known as the "Gas Man," Sneva won 13 Indy-style races during his racing career, including the 1983 Indianapolis 500. He earned 14 pole positions and was the first driver to crack the 200-mph barrier at Indianapolis. Sneva also was the first at the Speedway to eclipse 210 mph.

Sneva won national championships in 1977 and 1978 driving for Roger Penske and survived one of the most horrific accidents seen at Indianapolis a few years later.



Loading Comments...