Those experts who witnessed the last six annual Inter-Series will surely agree that the seventh edition at Gallina Moto Cross Park in the capital Windhoek demonstrated most exciting racing of the highest note.

The Open Class had three different winners in as many heats, and that is what the spectators love about the event organised by the Windhoek Moto Cross Club under its able leadership of Ingo Waldschmidt. Only the 125cc Class lacked that feature - because Tyla Rattray nearly dominated that class at will.

In the Open Class, it was German Dennis Schr?ter who shocked friends and foes alike with his holeshot. After three laps, he had a comfortable lead, while behind him Rattray had a tussle going with compatriot Collin Dugmore. Tyla could pass Dugmore, but only after the South African began to suffer major motor problems on his Suzuki that eventually saw him fall away. Dutchman Boyd Karsmakers, who always seems to excel at Gallina Moto Cross Park, could fend off all attacks by Markus Volz.

All eyes where fixed on Schr?ter in the second heat, but this time it was three-time Namibian Open champion Volz who took the holeshot. The German extended his lead throughout while, behind him, Schr?ter, Rattray, Karsmakers and Daniel Siegl were handlebar banging for second. Behind this group, it was US rider Carter Gurnee, Swiss champion Patrick Kasper and Austrian Michael Staufer who entertained the many spectators with exciting racing.

Siegl eventually bulldozed his way through his opponents and started the sort of hot pursuit seldom seen on Namibian soil, closing more and more on Volz who, many reckoned, was not fully aware of what was 'cooking' behind him. As if to prove the point, the inevitable eventually happened, as reigning Namibian Open champ Siegl passed without much resistance.

In the third leg - the EL Sea Products King of the Dirt race - the heat was well and truly on, and only the lapscoring charts could really tell what happened in positions 1-12 during the first ten laps.

South African star Rattray was engaged in a tussle with Siegl, Dugmore and Volz which eventually saw him out front. Californian Gurnee also was to be found in this group, again engaged in fierce fighting with Kasper. Schr?ter who also mingled with the best, but suddenly slowed and fell behind. However, it wasn't mechanical problems which felled the German.

"I had blackouts throughout the heat and I couldn't breath!" Schroter explained to the concern of all within earshot.

The 125cc Class attracted reputable riders from Europe and southern Africa for the first time and, while Rattray ran away up front, it was young Dutchman Mart de Jong who impressed the spectators with some gutsy racing.

Behind him, it was German Frank Jansen-Teitz, local hero Arno Engels, Siss rider Daniel Huser and South African Karl Stegen who fought for each and every point.

In the 'kindergarten category', the 50cc Junior Class was headed by Claire Brendel, the blonde-haired youngster getting the better of Mathew Nederlof and Mark Pritzen.

In the 50cc Senior Class, it was once more Erhard Pajewski who beat of the challenge of opponents Mark Sternagel and Eric Garbers, while the 65cc Class once again provided one of the highlights of the day with Bj?rn Bierbrauer bolstering his points-cushion ahead of a likely title win next weekend. Jaco Loots this time had the beating of Erhard Pajewski who took third spot. Best foreigner in this group was Chris Cloete from Botswana.

Equally exciting was the 85cc Class, with Kai Pritzen winning the first heat and following up with two second spots - enough to win the days rating. Despite some crashes, Bj?rn Bierbrauer eventually relegated Animal Wise into third position, although that should not prevent Animal's goal of winning this year's championship.

The Masters Class was won by Beau White, ahead of Namibia's old warhorse Fakkie Gous. The remaining spot on the rostrum was filled by South African Sean Holder, who beat Carsten K?lling into 4th spot.

Namibian Olaf Pack won the Clubmen's Class, while compatriot J?rgen Brendel relegated Angola's Jose Teixeiro into third spot. German Wolfgang Gerlach finished
fourth ahead of American Keith Weaver.



Loading Comments...