UPDATE: Marquez loses pole position due to a grid penalty.

Marquez takes a wet pole position at Sepang - despite a fall - during a storm-delayed qualifying for the Malaysian MotoGP.

Dovizioso was another faller and will start fifth on the grid.

Sunday's races have been brought forward by two hours in case of further heavy rain, with MotoGP now starting at 1pm local time.

Lorenzo has withdrawn after trying to return from wrist injuries in Thailand and is replaced by Michele Pirro.

Stefan Bradl is filling in for the injured Cal Crutchlow at LCR Honda after the British rider suffered a fractured right ankle in Australia.

Tito Rabat is still recovering from leg fractures at Silverstone and again due to be replaced by WorldSBK rider Jordi Torres.

However Torres was sidelined by a hand injury when heavy rain arrived during FP4. Simeon has Rabat's GP17 machines.

CLICK HERE for live updates

Revised Grid Order:

Row 1: Zarco, Rossi, Iannone.

Row 2: Dovizioso, Miller, Petrucci.

Row 3: Marquez, Rins, Bautista.

Row 4: Pedrosa, Vinales, A. Espargaro.

Row 5: Redding, Pirro, Simeon.

Row 6: P. Espargaro, Smith, Luthi.

Row 7: Morbidelli, Bradl, Abraham.

Row 8: Nakagami, Syahrin.

Qualifying 2:

  1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 2m 12.161s [Lap 3/7] 308km/h (Top Speed)*
  2. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 2m 12.709s +0.548s [Lap 7/7] 298k
  3. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 2m 13.009s +0.848s [Lap 7/7] 294k
  4. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 2m 13.097s +0.936s [Lap 6/7] 299k
  5. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 2m 13.183s +1.022s [Lap 6/7] 301k
  6. Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 2m 13.274s +1.113s [Lap 7/7] 301k
  7. Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 2m 13.413s +1.252s [Lap 6/7] 307k
  8. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 2m 13.463s +1.302s [Lap 3/7] 309k
  9. Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 2m 14.185s +2.024s [Lap 4/7] 301k
  10. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 2m 14.443s +2.282s [Lap 7/7] 291k
  11. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 2m 14.856s +2.695s [Lap 7/7] 293k
  12. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 2m 15.340s +3.179s [Lap 5/5] 304k

Qualifying 1:

  1. Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 2m 13.786s 290k
  2. Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 2m 13.823s 292k
  3. Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP17)* 2m 13.971s 291k
  4. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 14.132s 279k
  5. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 14.332s 287k
  6. Thomas Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 2m 14.843s 287k
  7. Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 2m 14.994s 285k
  8. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda (RC213V) 2m 15.364s 285k
  9. Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 2m 15.679s 285k
  10. Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* 2m 16.558s 282k
  11. Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 2m 16.825s 285k
  12. Jordi Torres SPA Reale Avintia (GP16) No Time

*Marc Marquez handed six-place grid penalty for blocking Andrea Iannone in qualifying

Official Sepang MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 2m 0.606s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda 1m 59.053s (2015)

Unofficial Sepang MotoGP record:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Ducati 1m 58.830s (2018 pre-season testing)


By Peter McLaren


Loading Comments...